Thread: Font not Antialiasing

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Font not Antialiasing

Hello,
    I must first say that I am new to Qt and have been trying out the open source edition and as a relatively experienced C++ and Win32 programmer, I must say I am thrilled with the quality and depth of Qt. My hat is off to the fine work done with this library.

I am noticing a font issue that somebody might be able to shed some light on.

I am using qt-x11-opensource-4.2.2 on mandriva 2007.0.

Here is what I am seeing:

Using Qt Designer, I am noticing that with the Antialiasing font setting to true, that the font is properly Antialiased in my Ui Form as expected, but only in Qt Designer. Likewise, when I set antialiasing to false, the expected behaviour occurs.

However, at my application's runtime, the font is not antialiased.
    I notice that also in qtconfig that this same font, Sans Serif, 9 pt, normal, is not antialiased.

Any suggestions as to how I can get this font to show up antialiased at runtime in my application?

Thank you,
    Charles

Thanks
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

Default Re: Font not Antialiasing

Hope this helps: Mandriva and Qt4.2 font problems. Thanks go to wysota in case it does..
    J-P Nurmi

3. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

ChasW (20th January 2007)

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

I commented the entire body of the file:
    /etc/fonts/conf.d/02-mdk-disable-antialias.conf
    to disable its effect and it corrected the problem.

Since no other application was affected by this issue and since the font I am using is not listed in that file, this is most likely a Qt bug indeed.

Thank you for your help with this and thank you to Wysota.

Charles

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows