Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Release mode fails to execute

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Release mode fails to execute

    I'm having trouble building a release version of my program. I open the project in Visual Studio 2010 Express, change it to Release configuration, make sure it's dependent on the release versions of all .libs I'm using, then build. The resulting .exe works fine on computers that have the Windows SDK installed, but when I try to run it on computers without the SDK that just have the C++ 2010 Redistributable installed, nothing happens. If I have the Taskmanager up to the processes tab, I can see my .exe appear for a few seconds, then disappear. This happens even if I run it with Admin priviledges.

    When I look at my release .exe in Dependency Walker, it seems to be relying entirely on release versions of .dlls. I do get some errors when I import it, though:
    Qt Code:
    1. Error: At least one module has an unresolved import due to a missing export function in an implicitly dependent module.
    2. Error: Modules with different CPU types were found.
    3. Warning: At least one delay-load dependency module was not found.
    4. Warning: At least one module has an unresolved import due to a missing export function in a delay-load dependent module.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I'm not sure if those errors could result in the kind of problem I'm seeing or not. I'm using Qt 4.8. I've never deployed a full GUI application with multiple libs and everything, so I'm sure I got something wrong; I just don't understand what, or why the .exe is acting like it is. What is going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    Did you deploy Qt libraries to the target system?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    I included the necessary .dlls with the .exe, is that what you mean by deploy? The computer I was testing it on and the one I was developing it on both run Windows 7 64-bit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    Which dlls did you include? Where exactly did you copy them from?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    I included QtCore4.dll, QtGui4.dll, and QtOpenGL4.dll from C:\Qt\4.8.3opensource\bin. 4.8.3opensource is where I installed Qt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    Did you verify that all their dependencies are fulfilled on the target machine? Try running dependency walker against them (or the application binary) on the target machine and see which dependencies are missing.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Release mode fails to execute

    Huh. Dependency Walker does claim some dependencies are missing. It's saying it can't find MSVCP100.dll, MSVCR100.dll, and IESHIMS.dll. However, those dlls are installed on the machine, the MSVC ones in SysWOW64 and IEShims in Program Files(x86)/Internet Explorer. I copied them to System32 and restarted Dependency Walker. This time it didn't complainthat those .dlls were missing, but the .exe still didn't run.

    I looked at it with dependency walker on a machine with the Window SKD installed, and it said that IEShims.dll was missing on that machine, even though the .exe did run properly. What's going on?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th March 2012, 22:34
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd November 2009, 13:02
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th April 2009, 07:23
  4. Not able to execute in Release Mode
    By sudheer168 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th March 2009, 12:58
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th October 2007, 19:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.