Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Thread: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Quote Originally Posted by Durkin View Post
    Should I expect to configure qmake and then simply add CONFIG += qwt to the projects I want?
    Yes of course, this is the recommended way given by qmake. Read the docs of qmake about setting QMAKEFEATURES - it doesn't mean more than telling qmake where to find the file qwt.prf. Instead of using "CONFIG += qwt" you could also write "include ( C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc3\features\qwt.prf )"

    And yes, qmake is broken in Qt 5.0 - it runs into an assertion, when QMAKEFEATURES is misconfigured.

    Quote Originally Posted by Durkin View Post
    Also step 9, really? For one version of qwt you 're suggesting I add to my system path variable? Surely there must be some better way.
    Read the docs of your OS how shared libraries are located by the loader. Once you have understood your options help yourself.

    Quote Originally Posted by Durkin View Post
    For whatever reason, qwt isn't as simple to add as your average library
    How to configure qmake is given by qmake and how to load shared libraries is given by your OS: don't blame Qwt for this.

    Uwe

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Quote Originally Posted by M4chin3 View Post
    But a documentation without a running creator plugin wouldn't be that good. It would create more questions than answers.
    When working on the docs I installed a Windows system and played with the installation of the designer plugin myself.


    • Guess the main reason why so many have failed is because the Qwt designer plugin needs to be compatible with the version that had been used for building the Creator. Usually this is a Qt 4.8 compiled with MSVC ( even it has been distributed as part of a MinGW package ! ). So beside when you want to use Qt 4.8 MSVC for your application you always have to compile and install Qwt twice.
    • A second problem might be that the creator also needs to locate the installed Qwt library when loading the plugin. So you need to set QT_PLUGIN_PATH and the PATH variable.


    When seeing this disaster I decided for the future to offer precompiled versions of the plugin statically linked to the library. Those won't be more than one or two and can be maintained easily.

    In general everything is done for this - beside finishing the documentation of the installation. So if someone is interested in faster progress you can support me with this document: http://sourceforge.net/p/qwt/code/HE...oc/install.dox

    Uwe

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Is it possible to use qwt via QtDesigner ? I tried to add the plug in but it doesn't work.
    I use ubuntu, qt 5.0.2 and i have installed qwt 6.1.0.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    See: http://qwt.sourceforge.net/qwtinstall.html#USEPLUGIN

    Note, that in Qwt 6.1.0 final ( in opposite to rc3 ) the plugin will be compiled with rpath and will find the Qwt lib on its own.

    The plugin has to be compatible with the Qt version of the creator/designer ( probably Qt 4.8 ) - what might be a different one, than the one you want to work with. For such a situation you have to install Qwt twice ( f.e. change QWT_INSTALL_PREFIX to /usr/local/qwt-6.1.0-qt4 for the second build in qwtconfig.pri ).

    On Windows you find a precompiled plugin that is compatible with the current official binary package of the creator.

    Uwe

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Hello !

    Thanks for your answer Uwe. I had let it beside to do something else and now I try again.
    Actually I don't even succeed in simply using the library. I have installed it and added the library to my current Qt project (on QtCreator, via the .pro file) but there is a pointer error even with the mere creation of an object.

    Qt Code:
    1. *** glibc detected *** /home/developpeur/developpement/stageCamille/build-Bandmaster-Desktop-Debug/Bandmaster: realloc(): invalid pointer: 0x00007f4c8c1f7340 ***
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    (followed by a Backtrace and Memory Map...)

    I have followed the steps of the link you gave me (and that I had used before). Maybe I should try again from scratch ?


    Added after 10 minutes:


    By the way, I don't think there is a problem of version. If I don't make mistake, qwt 6 correspond to qt 5 and I have installed QtCreator with Qt 5.

    Qt Creator 2.7.0
    Based on Qt 5.0.2 (64 bit)

    Built on Apr 9 2013 at 09:31:21
    Last edited by Amoliane; 10th June 2013 at 15:55.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Hello again,

    I have tried again this morning to fix the problem.
    Now, the plugin is detected by the designer but it is presented as "failed" :

    qtcreator.png

    I don't kniow if it is linked but I also have this message in the terminal when I launch QtCreator :

    Warning: Kit file version 0 not supported, cannot restore kits!
    Can somebody help me, please ? :-)

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    The creator found a qwt plugin in a directory that is completely different to the one, where a proper Qwt installation installs it.
    When copying files manually around you can't expect that someone else beside yourself can help.

    Uwe

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    After it took me a while to figure this out:

    It seems worthwile to note, that one still needs two versions of qwt installed, even if the MSVC compiler is used. The binaries of QtCreator are shipped in 32 bit, so one needs to compile a 32bit version of qwt with the correct qt version (help->about QtCreator). Set QT_PLUGIN_PATH and PATH to this version. (e.g. QT_PLUGIN_PATH=C:\qwt-6.1.0\plugin and PATH=......;C:\qwt-6.1.0\lib)

    Then, compile a fresh copy of qwt using the 64 bit toolchain. I used the Visual Studio prompt that mentions 64bit explicitly and called C:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2012_64\bin\qmake qwt.pro from there. Use this version of qwt to link your project against.

    I used qmake -set QMAKEFEATURES C:\qwt-6.1.0_64\features to tell qmake where to look for qwt and CONFIG += qwt in my .pro file.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Wink Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    10055 reads within 433 days
    Third of the most read threads in this subforum (Qwt)

    It seems that i wasn't the only one with this problem

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Hello,
    especially, I register me in this forum to post this:
    After I try some hours to work with the newest QT-Creator 3.1.1 and QWT 6.1.0 in Windows 8.

    At first the Tutorial of M4chin3 is very good (thank you very much for this), but for me it dont work with the QT-Creator.

    The solution is, that the QT Version, the qt creator is build with, have to be the same, qwt is build with.
    This means in my case:

    I get the QT Version of the Creator: Help - About Qt-Creator...
    The important information: Based on QT 5.2.1 (MSVC 2010, 32bit).
    So i need to download in addition qt 5.2.1. Also I need the vs 2010 compiler.

    1)In windows I go to the visual studio 2010 prompt:
    2)navigate to qwt: (in my case: cd C:\QWT\qwt-6.1.0)
    3)Now you have to call qmake from qt 5.2.1: (in my case: C:\Qt\5.2.1\msvc2010\bin\qmake) (This is the Point take me so much hours)
    4)type nmake (take some minutes)
    5)type nmake install
    6)set the Path and plugin Variables like M4chin3 told us

    P.s. sorry for my bad english. I promise, i gave my best!

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Quote Originally Posted by M4chin3 View Post
    Hello everyone,

    i was trying to get Qwt running properly on my Windows7 64bit PC. After hours of trying to find the right way to do this i wrote a step by step install and test manual.
    I would appreciate a comment of Uwe if this is the right way to do it, especially on the systems path and user variables.
    @Uwe: I also hope this guide saves you some time explaining people how to install qwt.

    Lets start:
    1. Download and install QT 5.0.1 (MinGw) to: "C:\Qt\Qt5.0.1"
    2. Download and extract Qwt 6.1 RC3 to: "C:\qwt-6.1-rc3"
    3. Add "C:\Qt\Qt5.0.1\5.0.1\mingw47_32\bin" to your systems path variable (qmake.exe is located here)
    4. Add "C:\Qt\Qt5.0.1\Tools\MinGW\bin" to your systems path variable (mingw32-make.exe is located here)
    5. Open a command line (cmd) and navigate to: "C:\qwt-6.1-rc3"
    6. Type: "qmake" (This command won't prompt any msg so don't worry)
    7. Type: "mingw32-make" (Compiles the whole project with examples; this will take a while so be patient)
    8. Type: "mingw32-make install" (This installs qwt to the directory set in "C:\qwt-6.1-rc3\qwtconfig.pri"; the default location is "C:/Qwt-$$QWT_VERSION-rc3" -> "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc3\")
    9. Add "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc3\lib" to your systems path variable
    10. Add a User variable named "QT_PLUGIN_PATH" with the following path "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc3\plugins"
    11. Add a User variable named "QMAKEFEATURES" with the following path "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc3\features"
    12. Start Qt Creator
    13. Create a new project: File -> New File or Project ... -> Applications -> Qt Gui Application -> Choose
    14. Name it "Test"
    15. Create the project in the following directory: "C:\workspace"
    16. Open file "Test.pro"
    17. Add "Config += qwt" at the bottom
    18. Open the main.c of the project and delete all its content.
    19. Paste the following in the main.c (This is the qwt example "simpleplot"):
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <qapplication.h>
    2. #include <qwt_plot.h>
    3. #include <qwt_plot_curve.h>
    4. #include <qwt_plot_grid.h>
    5. #include <qwt_symbol.h>
    6. #include <qwt_legend.h>
    7.  
    8. int main( int argc, char **argv )
    9. {
    10. QApplication a( argc, argv );
    11.  
    12. QwtPlot plot;
    13. plot.setTitle( "Plot Demo" );
    14. plot.setCanvasBackground( Qt::white );
    15. plot.setAxisScale( QwtPlot::yLeft, 0.0, 10.0 );
    16. plot.insertLegend( new QwtLegend() );
    17.  
    18. QwtPlotGrid *grid = new QwtPlotGrid();
    19. grid->attach( &plot );
    20.  
    21. QwtPlotCurve *curve = new QwtPlotCurve();
    22. curve->setTitle( "Some Points" );
    23. curve->setPen( Qt::blue, 4 ),
    24. curve->setRenderHint( QwtPlotItem::RenderAntialiased, true );
    25.  
    26. QwtSymbol *symbol = new QwtSymbol( QwtSymbol::Ellipse,
    27. QBrush( Qt::yellow ), QPen( Qt::red, 2 ), QSize( 8, 8 ) );
    28. curve->setSymbol( symbol );
    29.  
    30. QPolygonF points;
    31. points << QPointF( 0.0, 4.4 ) << QPointF( 1.0, 3.0 )
    32. << QPointF( 2.0, 4.5 ) << QPointF( 3.0, 6.8 )
    33. << QPointF( 4.0, 7.9 ) << QPointF( 5.0, 7.1 );
    34. curve->setSamples( points );
    35.  
    36. curve->attach( &plot );
    37.  
    38. plot.resize( 600, 400 );
    39. plot.show();
    40.  
    41. return a.exec();
    42. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    20. Rightclick the project and select "run qmake..."
    21. Now run the project. It should compile without errors and run.

    Remember this:
    For your own projects you now only have to add "Config += qwt" to your *.pro file to get Qwt running.

    I hope this tutorial helps to do your first steps with QT + Qwt.



    ---

    If this tutorial works and some admin is fine with it, i would suggest to mark it as a sticky thread.
    Just installed here in Windows 8 with Qt 5.1.1 and Qwt 6.1.0, and it worked fine!!
    Had to change some little things in steps 3, 4 and the uppercase in step 17, but it was easy.

    Thank you very much.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Hi everybody,

    I followed the instructions but have one Problem.

    If I open the QT-Designer directly from my start menu I have the qwt-widgets in the toolbar available.
    If I open the QT-Creator , create a project and change into Designer View I do not have the qwt-widgets.


    Can you give a helping Hand here?

    Oliver

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    The plugin and the application, that is loading the plugin, have to be built with the same Qt version. Guess your designer has been built together with the Qt version you have compiled Qwt with, while the creator is some binary, that has been downloaded from somewhere.

    So you have 2 options:

    • recompile the creator using the same Qt version
    • compile and install a 2nd version of the Qwt designer plugin with the Qt version of the creator.


    Also read the notes: http://qwt.sourceforge.net/qwtinstall.html#USEPLUGIN

    Uwe

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Thanks Uwe for your answer,

    I'm not familiar with compiling..., so please excuse my question.
    I downloaded a package for QT including Creator, and everything was running.

    I downloaded QWT-Library 6.1.2 and compiled it with:
    > Start > all programs > QT > 5.5 > MinGW4.9.2 > QT 5.5 ... - Shell

    the Creator Version which is used is:
    > Qt Creator 3.5.0 (opensource)
    > Based on Qt 5.5.0 (MSVC ...)


    So I think both are compiled with same QT Version or?
    How can I compile QWT with same QT Version as Creator (is thes another
    way how I have done it).

    Many thanks for your help!

    Oliver

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Creator has been compiled with MSVC, the plugin with MinGW -> incompatibility.

    Uwe

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: HowTo: Installation of Qt 5.0.1 and Qwt 6.1.0 rc3 (Win7 64bit)

    Hi,

    I'm using Qt 5.5/MinGW 4.9.2 32 bit/windows 7 64 bit/MSVC 2013/Qwt-6.1.2

    I need to install Qwt and was following the steps descibed by M4chin3

    But at the step 7...ie. "Type: "mingw32-make" (Compiles the whole project with examples; this will take a while so be patient)"
    I get the message "mingw32-make is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

    What could be issue? Someone please help.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2012, 18:20
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th February 2012, 15:10
  3. Building 64bit Shared Qt Dlls on 64bit Win7 for Visual Studio
    By HarrySatt in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th November 2011, 04:39
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2011, 13:36
  5. Win7 64bit remote debugging
    By mekl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th June 2010, 20:20

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.