Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Application executable remains silent if launched from a folder

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Application executable remains silent if launched from a folder

    I've created a basic application with QDialog, built it in release mode. I'm trying to launch the exe by copying it to other folder & added all the required DLLs. But on double-clicking the application executable, it's not opening the dialog window, it just remains silent.

    as per some suggestions found across by googling, I found that I need to add CONFIG += static in my .pro folder, even then it didn't help me in launching the application. I'm using Qt 5.0.2 MSVC 2010.

    i've taken Qt 5.0.2 installer from this link. Now do I need to follow this Deployment on Windows for creating an installer(using NSIS installer) or to run from release folder by adding DLLs ?

    My .pro file looks like this -
    Qt Code:
    1. QT += core gui
    2. CONFIG += static
    3. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets
    4. TARGET = SimpleDialog
    5. TEMPLATE = app
    6. SOURCES += main.cpp\
    7. dialog.cpp
    8. HEADERS += dialog.h
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    And list of DLLs that I've added
    Qt Code:
    1. qwindows.dll
    2. Qt5Widgets.dll
    3. Qt5Multimedia.dll
    4. Qt5Gui.dll
    5. Qt5Core.dll
    6. qminimal.dll
    7. msvcp90.dll
    8. libGLESv2.dll
    9. D3DCompiler_43.dll
    10. icudt49.dll
    11. icuin49.dll
    12. icuuc49.dll
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    In one other case, I've complied & built an application, I'm able to launch it in my PC (by adding DLLs as explained above), but it doesn't launch & remains silent in other PCs.
    Kindly help me solve the issue. Thanks.
    Last edited by rawfool; 29th June 2013 at 14:25.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Application executable remains silent if launched from a folder

    Do you have even the vaguest idea what "CONFIG += static" does? You don't need it unless you have rebuilt a static Qt library from source in order to support statically linked Qt applications.

    You need to put the DLLs into the correct locations relative to your executable. Plugins go in sub folders for example. It is all shown on the deployment page you linked under "Creating the application pacakage"

  3. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    rawfool (30th June 2013)

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot run executable release application (only while Qwt is used)
    By Andell in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th October 2012, 00:55
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th March 2012, 10:48
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th November 2011, 10:54
  4. QT executable application
    By evan6200 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th August 2011, 21:26
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th August 2011, 08:17

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.