Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

    My project is Qt5.0.2. on Windows 7. No third party libs to link against, except quazip which is also built in release mode. I build in release mode. I execute the binary in the release build folder and it says that it requires debug dlls. I am not sure what I have done wrong in configuration. Here is what I have tried.

    Deleted the build folder, ran qmake, then build.
    Deleted the build folder, ran clean, ran qmake, then build.
    Ran clean, ran qmake, then build.

    Still with all 3, it requires the debug dll.

    Any help?
    Last edited by JasonKretzer; 17th July 2013 at 22:08.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    167
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

    You need to include the dll's from Qt also to produce a stand-alone version. For example
    qgif4.dll
    if you use gifs in your project. Most of the times you need:

    QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll
    you ll find those dlls where you installed Qt.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonKretzer View Post
    Any help?
    Open your executable in Dependency Walker and it will tell you which DLL is loading what.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coimbatore,TamilNadu,India
    Posts
    382
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

    Just go with Static building.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Release Build Requires Debug dlls?

    No, don't. If you are unable to get to grips with deploying a few DLLs then you are unlikely to be able to be any better off trying to build a static Qt library, living with the technical limits that imposes, living with the licence limits that imposes, and likely still having to deploy a bunch of DLLs on which Qt depends. Work the problem you have rather than going looking for others.

Similar Threads

  1. QTL: Debug build faster than release build?
    By tuli in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th March 2013, 23:49
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th September 2012, 15:46
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th October 2011, 00:04
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd December 2009, 17:12
  5. Dialog executes in debug build but not release
    By awhite1159 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th June 2008, 18:51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.