Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unable to launch exe from release folder

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Unable to launch exe from release folder

    I've created a QSharedMemory Image loader example application. I built it in release mode.

    If I copy the application(.exe) into C:\Qt\Qt5.0.2\5.0.2\mingw4-32\bin, the application is running.
    Now I added all the necessary DLLs to the release folder by doing a dependency check in "Dependency Walker". But still I'm unable to open the application.

    When I try to launch the application by double-clicking it, it's giving following error message.
    The application has requested Rutime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact application's support team for more information.
    And if I run the dependency check after adding the necessary DLLs, still the dependency walker is showing the names of below mentioned 3 DLLs in red color.
    SHLWAPI.dll
    IEFRAME.dll
    URLMON.dll
    Kindly help me. Thank you.

  2. The following user says thank you to rawfool for this useful post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,241
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    how many Qt dlls are on your path?
    If you have a problem, CUT and PASTE your code. Do not retype or simplify it. Give a COMPLETE and COMPILABLE example of your problem. Otherwise we are all guessing the problem from a fabrication where relevant details are often missing.

  4. The following user says thank you to amleto for this useful post:


  5. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    I took a copy of my release folder and deleted all the moc & .o files and added the following DLLs. Three Qt DLLs are added(highlighted in bold). I've created an application similar to the Image Loader application example in IPC. I'm using Qt5.0.2
    Qt5Core.dll
    Qt5Gui.dll
    Qt5Widgets.dll

    D3DCompiler_43.dll
    icudt49.dll
    icuin49.dll
    icuuc49.dll
    ieframe.dll
    IEShims.dll
    libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll
    libGLESv2.dll
    libstdc++-6.dll
    libwinpthread-1.dll
    shlwapi.dll
    Thank you.

  6. The following user says thank you to rawfool for this useful post:


  7. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,241
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    use the windows event logger and sxs (side by side) tools to find out which lib is giving problem.
    If you have a problem, CUT and PASTE your code. Do not retype or simplify it. Give a COMPLETE and COMPILABLE example of your problem. Otherwise we are all guessing the problem from a fabrication where relevant details are often missing.

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    Creating the Application Package

    You are missing the Qt Windows platform plugin:. platforms\qwindows.dll
    You are probably missing Qt plugins for image formats, icon formats, SQL drivers, etc. but this will not stop your program starting: just working.
    You are missing the MingW runtime library: MINGWM10.DLL (I assume it is still part of Ming 4.7.2)
    If your Qt was built to use ANGLE then you are missing: libEGL.dll (otherwise you don't need those DLLS at all)

    You have Windows DLLs that are not part of Qt but are part of target Windows installs: ieframe.dll, IEShims.dll, shlwapi.dll

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    Thank you for the replies Amleto & ChrisW67.

    I've added qwindows.dll, qico.dll, qjpeg.dll & MINGWM10.DLL. I didn't use ANGLE so, I didn't add libEGL.dll but still the application is not getting opened.

    You have Windows DLLs that are not part of Qt but are part of target Windows installs: ieframe.dll, IEShims.dll, shlwapi.dll
    Do you mean including these DLLs isn't necessary?

    I've checked with Windows Event Logger and it's showing some error regarding Qt5Core.dll
    Log Name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 5/13/2013 10:17:48 AM
    Event ID: 1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    Description:
    Faulting application name: ImgLoader.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x51906bd7
    Faulting module name: Qt5Core.dll, version: 5.0.2.0, time stamp: 0x5163676c
    Exception code: 0x40000015
    Fault offset: 0x0000dc95
    Faulting process id: 0xb3c
    Faulting application start time: 0x01ce4f9503b785e0
    Last edited by rawfool; 13th May 2013 at 07:42.

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    Quote Originally Posted by rawfool View Post
    Thank you for the replies Amleto & ChrisW67.

    I've added qwindows.dll, qico.dll, qjpeg.dll & MINGWM10.DLL. I didn't use ANGLE so, I didn't add libEGL.dll but still the application is not getting opened.

    Do you mean including these DLLs isn't necessary?

    I've checked with Windows Event Logger and it's showing some error regarding Qt5Core.dll
    I have the same issues with Qt5Core. Did you find a resolution?

    Chris

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    Tell us exactly what you have deployed with your executable, which Qt version you used, whether Qt was the ANGLE or OpenGL build, and what compiler you used. Without that we are only guessing.

    It is all in the docs

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Unable to launch exe from release folder

    Compiler: MinGW32 4.8
    Qt Version: 5.1
    Graphics: the default settings for the Qt 5.1 SDK, which I believe is ANGLE

    Deployed with App:
    icudt51.dll
    icuin51.dll
    icuuc51.dll
    libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
    libstdc++-6.dll
    libwinpthread-1.dll
    MyApplication.exe
    Qt5Core.dll
    QtGui.dll
    Qt5Network.dll
    Qt5OpenGL.dll
    Qt5PrintSupport.dll
    Qt5Qml.dll
    Qt5Quick.dll
    Qt5Sensors.dll
    Qt5Sql.dll
    Qt5V8.dll
    Qt5WebKit.dll
    Qt5WebKitWidgets.dll
    Qt5Widgets.dll
    SDL.dll
    sdl-config
    It runs just fine with those DLLs in the executable's folder on my machine, but it cannot run on other machines (it crashes with MSVC Runtime Library error). If I change the directory name of my Qt directory, my app will not run on my machine, even with those DLLs in the folder, which makes me think that it's trying to load something from my Qt directory. Dependency Walker says that I'm missing:
    DCOMP.dll
    IESHIMS.dll
    API-MS-WIN-CORE-COM-L1-1-0.DLL
    API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-ERROR-L1-1-0.DLL
    API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-L1-1-0.DLL
    API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-ROBUFFER-L1-1-0.DLL
    API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-STRING-L1-1-0.DLL
    API-MS-WIN-SHCORE-SCALING-L1-1-0.DLL
    If I put the "platforms" folder (from QtDir/mingw32_48/plugins) into my executable's folder, then my application appears to be running in Task Manager, but no UI appears. What am I missing?

    Thanks for the help,

    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th January 2012, 11:47
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th October 2010, 05:27
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th April 2010, 17:47
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th January 2010, 22:35
  5. Release folder - 1 .exe file only
    By Swankee in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st December 2009, 23:43

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.