Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to use external source code in Qt creator?

Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default How to use external source code in Qt creator?

Hi guys. I'm new to Qt an C++. I started developing an app on Windows platform Qt 5.1.1 Qt Creator v. 2.8.1 and would like to include some external source code in my project. So to learn how to do it, I wrote a simple c program consisting of 3 files, elab.cpp
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <iostream>
    2. #include "mat.h"
    4. int sumup(int a, int b) {
    5. return (a + b);
    6. }
    8. int main() {
    9. using namespace std;
    11. int a = precalc(3,4);
    12. cout << "The sum of 3 and 4 is " << a;
    14. int c = sumup(6,2);
    15. cout << "The sum of 6 and 2 is " << c;
    17. return 0;
    18. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    mat.h
    Qt Code:
    1. #ifndef ADD_H
    2. #define ADD_H
    4. int precalc(int x, int y);
    6. #endif
    and mat.cpp
    Qt Code:
    1. int precalc(int x, int y) {
    2. return (x + y);
    3. }
    If I compile both cpp-s to exe with mingw the program runs ok. Now I wonder how do I include it in my new Qt app. I want for instance invoke my function "precalc" to be precise. So far I tried to alter the pro file by adding lines like
    Qt Code:
    1. SOURCES += "C:\Users\myuser\Documents\elab_c_proj"
    2. INCLUDEPATH += "C:\Users\myuser\Documents\elab_c_proj"
    3. LIBS += "C:\Users\myuser\Documents\elab_c_proj"
    4. HEADERS += "C:\Users\myuser\Documents\elab_c_proj"
    I realized that adding just the INCLUDEPATH directive is enough to get access to my function when coding. However the problem arises when I try to build the new qt app, compiler/linker don't know how, tells me somehing like "undefined reference to precalc". Since I'm new to C++ I'm not sure I understand the concept correctly, so my questions are:
    1)what am I missing, doing wrong?