Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: QSocketNorifier on stdin dont fire signal WinXP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default QSocketNorifier on stdin dont fire signal WinXP

    Hi All,

    I try to read from stdin in a nonblocking manner. To do so I used the example from here with QT 4.8.1

    After correcting some typos the connect works but the signal seems not to be emitted.
    Two things are remarkable :

    1. the console do not echo the keybord input
    2. after issuing Crtl-C the former unvisible keybord input appear on console and the program terminates as expected.

    the method readCommand will not be called at any time.

    I have changed the example a little by moving the constructor from inline in the header file to simple constructor the cpp file, but this do not make a difference.

    Can someon give me a hint whats the problem ??

    By the way the .pro file contains the CONFIG += console setting

    Thanks
    dexli

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QSocketNorifier on stdin dont fire signal WinXP

    The terminal could be buffering the input before it sends it to the program.

    Depending on what kind of terminal you are using you could search for ways to turn that off.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Thumbs down Re: QSocketNorifier on stdin dont fire signal WinXP

    Hi Anda,

    thanks for the quick reply. The console is the normal cmd.exe window.
    But even if your assumption is right at least after the <Return> something should happen. Correct ??

    all best
    dexli



    Added after 17 minutes:


    Ok meanwhile I found
    this bug report
    It seems to be still an issue which is not documented
    So I have to found another way

    Thanks
    dexli
    Last edited by dexli; 11th December 2013 at 10:56.

Similar Threads

  1. Signal is emtted, slot does not fire.
    By JasonKretzer in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st August 2013, 21:40
  2. QSqlTableModel OnFieldChange causes what signal to fire?
    By scott_hollen in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th September 2011, 20:23
  3. QAction, triggered signal dont call a slot
    By kaszewczyk in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th October 2010, 21:30
  4. fire and forget way for QProcess
    By qt_gotcha in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th August 2010, 19:42
  5. QObject::connect exception fire
    By names in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 07:59

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.