Thread: Help Request for designing .ini editor application in Qt for a total newbe

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5

Default Help Request for designing .ini editor application in Qt for a total newbe

Hello there, this will be my very first post on this forum

Why I need help

As mentioned in title, I'm a total newbe to projecting my own applications,
    I finished C++ course on University and know the general principles of object programing,
    but I never really wrote a GUI application from a scratch.

What advice do I need

I need to know the general approach I should take, what Qt elements would fit best for the purpose,
    what approach should I take in regards to data representation, save and load mechanics, how to combine it with
    the interface and stuff.
    If you've got good reading materials in regards to the topic, I'll be glad to read them instead.
    I don't want you to write the program for me, because I want to learn how to do it myself, I just want directions.

What I intend to create

I want to create an application that will allow me to easily modify certain .ini files, which represent
    HUD elements in a game. I want to easily place them on the screen, easily be able to mess around with the textures of the element
    (by selecting region from tga graphic file), and be able to rearange them in fashion of GIMP layers.

The Ini Structure consists of
    • A main ini file, containing list of ini files with elements to load.
    • ini files containing a header with offset property, and elements separated using a comment line
    • elements of 3 types: Text, Icon(aka textures), Effects, all of which are represented on screen as rectangles and contain properties
    • properties of various nature, such as ID, hud group, hud layer, rectangle, and various other properties. I could load them all, but I see no need to, as some of them are irrelevant to the program purpose.