Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    US, Midwest
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

    I have 8 autodetected compilers in Kit setup. The compiler that I want to use is towards the end of the list.
    qtCreatorCompiler.jpg
    Question: how to select a specific compiler in QtCreator?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

    When you go to the Kits tab, you will have an option to choose the compiler.

    Its all about Kits now :-)

  3. The following user says thank you to aamer4yu for this useful post:

    TorAn (7th March 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    US, Midwest
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

    Thank you,

    I found out that the selection of compilers is done under the "Kits", by selecting the kit and changing "compiler" selection.

    I am now stuck with the question - how to change/add a compiler flag for a selected compiler in the kit?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

    You can use the variable QMAKE_CXXFLAGS in your .pro file.

    Also if you wanna pass some argument to qmake or make, that can be done by going to Projects Tab in Qt Creator, and from there selecting Build option and then View Details for qmake and make steps.
    There you can pass arguments for the qmake or make.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    US, Midwest
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to set default compiler in QtCreator 2.7.0

    well, I have all my projects set up correctly now. The question however, is expanded to this one:

    Say, I have 20 different projects and all of them use the same compiler flags, includes of external libs etc. How to set it up on a "QtCreator" level (not on a project level) and refer to these settings in each pro file.

    Like:

    include <someglobalsettings usage from QtCreator>...

Similar Threads

  1. QtCreator compiler options
    By soxs060389 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 00:19
  2. Compiler error with qtcreator and qtestlib
    By azmeuk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th November 2011, 15:12
  3. compiler and app error with qtcreator 2.3 and 4..7.4
    By creatio.x in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th September 2011, 09:16
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th April 2009, 08:37
  5. default argument compiler warning
    By TheKedge in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th March 2007, 14:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.