Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Dynamically resizing in QT 3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Dynamically resizing in QT 3

    I'm trying to do the examples in the QT 3 tutorial titled "C++ GUI Programming with Qt 3." Please note that I am trying to do the examples without QT Designer.

    In chapter 2 there is a more button which allows a user to extend an options menu. The button works, but when it is toggled off, the size of the dialog screen remains the same. Is there a way to have it dynamically shrink to its original size?

    Here is the constructor for my class, which inherits from QDialog:

    Qt Code:
    1. SortDialog::SortDialog(QWidget * parent, const char * name)
    2. : QDialog(parent, name)
    3. {
    4. setCaption("Sort");
    5.  
    6. pGroup = new QGroupBox( 2, Qt::Horizontal, "&Primary Key", this);
    7. pLabel1 = new QLabel("Column", pGroup);
    8. pCombo1 = new QComboBox(pGroup);
    9. pLabel2 = new QLabel("Order", pGroup);
    10. pCombo2 = new QComboBox(pGroup);
    11.  
    12. sGroup = new QGroupBox( 2, Qt::Horizontal, "&Secondary Key", this);
    13. sLabel1 = new QLabel("Column", sGroup);
    14. sCombo1 = new QComboBox(sGroup);
    15. sLabel2 = new QLabel("Order", sGroup);
    16. sCombo2 = new QComboBox(sGroup);
    17.  
    18. tGroup = new QGroupBox( 2, Qt::Horizontal, "&Tertiary Key", this);
    19. tLabel1 = new QLabel("Column", tGroup);
    20. tCombo1 = new QComboBox(tGroup);
    21. tLabel2 = new QLabel("Order", tGroup);
    22. tCombo2 = new QComboBox(tGroup);
    23.  
    24. okButton = new QPushButton("&Ok", this);
    25. cancelButton = new QPushButton("&Cancel", this);
    26. moreButton = new QPushButton("&More", this);
    27. moreButton->setToggleButton(TRUE);
    28.  
    29. connect(okButton, SIGNAL(clicked()),
    30. this, SLOT(accept()));
    31. connect(cancelButton, SIGNAL(clicked()),
    32. this, SLOT(reject()));
    33. connect(moreButton, SIGNAL(toggled(bool)),
    34. sGroup, SLOT(setShown(bool)));
    35. connect(moreButton, SIGNAL(toggled(bool)),
    36. tGroup, SLOT(setShown(bool)));
    37.  
    38. QVBoxLayout *vert1 = new QVBoxLayout;
    39. QVBoxLayout *vert2 = new QVBoxLayout;
    40. vert1->addWidget(pGroup);
    41. vert1->addStretch(1);
    42. vert1->addWidget(sGroup);
    43. vert1->addWidget(tGroup);
    44. vert2->addWidget(okButton);
    45. vert2->addWidget(cancelButton);
    46. vert2->addWidget(moreButton);
    47. vert2->addStretch(1);
    48.  
    49. QHBoxLayout *main = new QHBoxLayout(this);
    50. main->setMargin(10);
    51. main->setSpacing(10);
    52. main->addLayout(vert1);
    53. main->addLayout(vert2);
    54.  
    55. sGroup->hide();
    56. tGroup->hide();
    57. setColumnRange('A', 'Z');
    58.  
    59. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I guess that I could create my own slot that uses the boolean value and resets the size of the QDialog if toggle is false. In that case what member function will let me resize QDialog?
    Last edited by kroenecker; 9th January 2006 at 19:36.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Dynamically resizing in QT 3

    Maybe you should change the resizeMode to Fixed as the book suggests?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kerala
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Dynamically resizing in QT 3

    And please use the "[ C O D E ] " and not the Quote tag
    Qt Code:
    1. Code.soThatWeGet( SyntaxHighlight );
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Dynamically resizing in QT 3

    LOL. That was simple. Thanks all.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem on Resizing of QTableView colums ?
    By rajeshs in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th March 2008, 05:03
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th August 2007, 16:16
  3. QMdiSubWindow resizing in 4.3
    By kalpa in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th June 2007, 14:39
  4. Dynamically adding tabs
    By larry104 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th July 2006, 21:27
  5. Resizing the dialog box dynamically
    By vvbkumar in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 09:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.