Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Qt5.3.0 - starting error - /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not fo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt5.3.0 - starting error - /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not fo

    hi to all,
    I installed Qt5.3.0, and after installing, when i started qtcreator, i got following error :-
    Qt Code:
    1. [root@kaljayi bin]# ./qtcreator
    2. Qt: Session management error: None of the authentication protocols specified are supported
    3.  
    4. (<unknown>:27276): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempt to load unknown IM context type 'gtk-im-context-none'
    5. Failed to load core: /opt/Qt5.3.0/Tools/QtCreator/lib/qtcreator/plugins/QtProject/libCore.so: Cannot load library
    6. /opt/Qt5.3.0/Tools/QtCreator/lib/qtcreator/plugins/QtProject/libCore.so:
    7. (/usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (required by
    8. /opt/Qt5.3.0/Tools/QtCreator/lib/qtcreator/plugins/QtProject/../.././libQt5CLucene.so.5))
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    how to overcome this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt5.3.0 - starting error - /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' no

    The problem is that you have an older libstdc++ then the one that Qt was compiled with (I'm guessing you are using CentOS).
    You'll need libstdc++.so.6.0.16 or later
    if you are using CentOS6 or later this can be a pain in the.. I tried several ways like using rpm from other Linux flavours (that didn't work for me)
    so the "slimplest way that finally worked was compiling gcc 4.6.2 and getting the lib from there so here are the steps:
    ftp://gd.tuwien.ac.at/gnu/gcc/releases/gcc-4.6.2

    tar xzf gcc-4.6.2.tar.gz
    cd gcc-4.6.2
    ./contrib/download_prerequisites
    cd ..
    mkdir objdir
    cd objdir
    $PWD/../gcc-4.6.2/configure –prefix=/opt/gcc-4.6.2
    make
    make install

    now you'll have the library ready to be copied:
    cp /opt/gcc-4.6.2/lib64/libstdc++.so.6.0.16 /usr/lib64
    and make the soft links
    ln -s /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6.0.16 /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6
    ln -s /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6.0.16 /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so

    you might want to make a backup of the old library and its links before doing that
    there is one drawback doing it like this. your rpm manager does not know that you installed a new library.
    hope this helps

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd December 2013, 15:53
  2. QMake for Linux x64 doesn't set -L/usr/lib64
    By PhilippM in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th April 2011, 14:14
  3. QtCore4.dll error when starting the program from cd
    By circass in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16th June 2010, 07:17
  4. Error starting Qt
    By shamik in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th April 2007, 12:30
  5. QGLWidget, libstdc++ compilation error
    By Rayven in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th July 2006, 17:11

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.