Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to pack and deploy Qt5.2.1 applications

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default How to pack and deploy Qt5.2.1 applications

    After months of installing Qt5.2.1, my first Qt5.2.1 program finally is finished. Now I need to deploy it to the user's Centos 6.5 machine that has no Qt5.2.1 and gcc4.9 installed. (only the Qt3.X and gcc4.4.7-4 in user's machine)
    I tried to follow the instructions of "Deployment" provided by Qt's assistant. But I have tons of thing could not figure out by myself, I need some helps. Let me ask the first two questions:

    1. How do I know my Qt5.2.1 is "statically build"? If not, what do I need to do to install static build Qt5.2.1? I installed Qt5.2.1 from the file "qt-opensource-Linux-x64-5.2.1.run
    2. Since Qt5.2.1 applications could be build by using Qt Creator's, how could I "modified" the configurations so that I could build a statically linked executable?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to pack and deploy Qt5.2.1 applications

    The default build of Qt is dynamic libraries, so you'll have to build Qt with the static option enabled.

    You then add this version of Qt as an option in QtCreator (i.e. create a new "kit").
    Since the target is using an earlier version of the compiler it might be best to build in a similar environment.

    Alternatively to a static build you could consider bundling the dynamic libraries.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    mp33919 (21st August 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: How to pack and deploy Qt5.2.1 applications

    Thanks anda_skoa.

    Questions is how to build Qt with the static option enabled?
    This was what I did:
    run the file: qt-opensource-Linux-x64-5.2.1.run
    "Welcome to the Qt 5.2.1 Setup Wizard"
    [Next>]
    "Installation Folder"
    /home/Qt5.2.1
    [Next>]
    "Select Components
    [Select All] [Next>]
    "License Agreement"
    [Qt Installer LGPL Agreement] Accept [Next>]
    "Ready to Install"

    If I press [Install], the Qt5.2.1 will be built. But till to this point, I see no place to set "static enable option". So how can I set "static enable"?

    Thanks again.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to pack and deploy Qt5.2.1 applications

    As I said you have to build Qt yourself

    http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5/configure-options.html

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th February 2011, 11:49
  2. How to pack my QT application
    By pshah.mumbai in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th September 2009, 16:52
  3. Widgets mega pack.
    By jwcrowell in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th March 2009, 08:35
  4. Pack all .qm files into .qrc, why doesn't work???
    By yxmaomao in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th May 2008, 19:38
  5. Qt DLL Pack for Windows
    By LMZ in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th May 2007, 10:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.