Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Independent splash screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Independent splash screen

    Hi guys, I've little problem and don't know how to fix it.
    I need to create splash screen (with animation) during application creates UI (many dialogs and widgets).
    Splash dialog uses QMovie for animation and it needs that application processes events to change frames. This is main problem, if I put QApplication:rocessEvents into code that make initialization, loading time increases and also my animation starts jerking because time interval is different from one processEvents to another. I believe there is some solution how to run two UI widgets the same time without freezing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Independent splash screen

    You need to find out what is blocking the main UI's initialization.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Independent splash screen

    How this will help ? Main thread creates a lot of widgets and I don't want to put call of processEvents on every line of that code. I need to create widget(dialog) that is detached from main thread. Is this possible ?
    Last edited by ndev; 23rd September 2014 at 16:58.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Independent splash screen

    You don't have to add process event into places, just to make sure that whatever code is processed by the main thread doesn't take too long.

    E.g. by calling delayed creation methods through a single shot timer or QMetaObject::invokeMethod and have each of those contain code that can be executed quickly enough.

    Your other option is to run the splash screen as a separate application, e.g. through QProcess, or the other way around.

    But the most essential thing is always to determine which part of the code actually causes the blocking

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Splash Screen ?
    By vinod in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th April 2020, 17:15
  2. [PyQt] Delaying splash screen
    By M. Bashir in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd May 2018, 10:40
  3. splash screen problem
    By wizarda in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 02:05
  4. How to Keep Splash Screen and App on Same Display
    By ajb_advance in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th March 2009, 11:49
  5. Splash Screen
    By Salazaar in forum Newbie
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 4th June 2007, 17:31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.