Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5 PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    I'm working on Windows 8.1. so on windows xp you are able to get the two dockwidgets to tabify, and set movable, and have them move? sorry, am confused but your two paragraphs, as the dockwidgets create a dynamic tab bar.

    thanks much for input though

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows
    Wiki edits
    7

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    I don't tabify them through code, I drag one dock on top of the other, while the program is running, and drop it. They become tabified.
    In my subclassed dock widget I have a slot receiving its own signal topLevelChanged( bool topLevel ), and in this slot I identify the tab bar that is now holding this dock widget and set its setMovable( true ).

    With this the tabs are movable with the mouse, but they crash the program consistently. I don't think it's something possible to have.
    Toon Boom, a commercial, industry standard animation software that uses Qt has detachable dock tabs but not movable tabs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5 PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    My next phase is to subclass the dock widget. I want to get rid of the title bar ugliness and have tabs displayed fulltime, ala unity editor.

    Could u post the snippet you're using for the top level, am curious, and without having code in front of me at the moment, its bugging me lol.

    Thanks much

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows
    Wiki edits
    7

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    Do you need this with urgency? I want to finish this detachable dock tab behaviour, and if it actually works, I'll pack it in an example project and share around here for others like me that are looking for this functionality.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5 PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    Definitely not an urgent matter. Let me know if I can help in anyway.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows
    Wiki edits
    7

    Default Re: QDockWidget + QTabBar, but tabs don't move

    For cross-referencing, here's the thread:
    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/6140...ockWidget-tabs

Similar Threads

  1. movable QTabBar or QTabWidget set some tabs fixed
    By fsmoke in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2014, 01:24
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2012, 22:37
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th November 2011, 11:51
  4. QTabBar make all tabs out of focus
    By migel in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th August 2011, 12:38
  5. QTabBar color in space inbetween tabs
    By AwDogsgo2Heaven in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 08:44

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.