Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Cant link a simple Qt program

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Cant link a simple Qt program

    I'm trying to build the very simple "Hello World" Qt sammple.

    I downloaded Qt 5.4 from here...
    http://download.qt-project.org/offic...x86-online.exe
    The filename sayes x86 but the msvc dir sayes "C:\Qt\5.4\msvc2013_64\"

    So Who knows what it is ?

    Does this version work with MS Visual Studio 2013 Express ? (You can't use the fancy plugin with Express version)

    I can compile file ok. But it will not Link. I added Qt5Core.lib to linking, but still no luck. It sayes
    -----------------------------------------------

    Could someone please provide the library includes with file names which must be used to link against ?

    I can't find that information anywhere.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Cant link a simple Qt program

    Learn to use qmake. Especially its -tp parameter.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cant link a simple Qt program

    Your saying I can't use the IDE I must use a custom make file system ?

    That can't be correct. That would mean the Qt include files have no logical structure based on there own #include statements.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Cant link a simple Qt program

    Quote Originally Posted by arealperson View Post
    Your saying I can't use the IDE I must use a custom make file system ?
    No, I'm saying use qmake to generate a visual studio project.

    That would mean the Qt include files have no logical structure based on there own #include statements.
    Include files are the least of your worries. But you can save yourself a couple of hours of manually trying to recreate what qmake will generate for you in one second.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Simple demo won't link - undef vtable and Q_OBJECT
    By DrunkenUFOPilot in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 00:57
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th February 2010, 11:52
  3. A whole Qt program as dynamic link lib?
    By Kumosan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th December 2009, 13:22
  4. Simple C/C++ program
    By ct in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th October 2007, 15:11
  5. how to use progressBar in simple program
    By jyoti in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st December 2006, 13:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.