Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Qt 5 Create Empty project

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt 5 Create Empty project

    In qt creator 3.3, There is no option for creating empty project. There is only a qmake empty project.
    How do I create empty project.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    What do you mean by an "empty" project?
    Just create an empty folder and you have an empty project. No much use for anything. You can use Qt Creator's File menu Create New File option to put files in your empty project, treating it like a big text editor.

    You probably mean the project you get when you use the Create Project wizard and select Non-Qt Project, Plain C or C++ project.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    I don't want to create a non-qt project. I just don't want form or additional cpp files that is generated with qt widget application.
    I want a empty project and want to add all qt headers by myself.
    Earlier in qt creator there was an option for creating empty qt project and now it is gone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    Other Projects, Empty Qt Project?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    empty project under other project.jpg

    Look at the image there is no empty project under other project.
    But there is Empty Qmake project and I think it is something different. You have to write your own qmake with it.
    I just want to know why there is not "Empty project" inside other project? Is it removed from qt creator 3.3?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    Could you specify the difference between what you get with "empty qmake project" and what you would like to receive with "empty project"? For example what tools would you use to build the "empty project" project?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    solved:

    To all the newbie's like me, if you want to create empty qt project file.
    Create a non-qt c++ sources or create an empty qmake project and the add these lines to your .pro file


    Qt Code:
    1. TARGET = worldisnotenough #what you want to call your exe
    2.  
    3. SOURCES += main.cpp #add the name of your source files
    4.  
    5. HEADERS += headername.h # add the name of your header file
    6.  
    7. QT += core gui #for using qtcore and qtgui stuff
    8. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets #for qt5
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Last edited by freiza; 24th February 2015 at 22:50.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    la solution la plus simple
    -on utilise "empty qmake project" apres avoir cree le nouveau fichier, entre dans fichier.pro et insere QT+=widgets (attention a la casse)
    et continue en creant ton fichier source comme d'habitude! ca marche!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 59 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 5 Create Empty project

    Have you tried that "empty qmake project"? It is not intended for your custom qmake for sure (writing a custom qmake would be rather challenging). Moreover, the "empty qmake project" is at the same position as an ordinary "empty project" in Linux. I bet it's the same - you will start with an empty .pro file and you will write everything yourself.

Similar Threads

  1. How to create a QtQuick 1 Application project?
    By TheIndependentAquarius in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd October 2013, 11:02
  2. Create a Static exe file of my qt project
    By derkas in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th January 2013, 21:10
  3. how to create .exe file of the project?
    By anamr in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th October 2010, 11:37
  4. How to create a XCode nested Project.
    By kaushal_gaurav in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th November 2008, 11:41
  5. [QDevelop] Problem with empty project
    By dreamer in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th February 2008, 07:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.