Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: dll deployment

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default dll deployment

    I've created a dll using qt and used Qwidgets.
    Now I want to deploy my dll. I used windeployqt and copied all the dlls and other stuff to client machine along with my dll. But still it says qtcore5.dll is missing from the computer.

    I don't want to touch system directory of my client. What should I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: dll deployment

    Deploy the missing Qt DLL (and all its dependencies) in the same place as yours.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: dll deployment

    already put the dependencies in the same folder but still not working

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: dll deployment

    Use Dependency Walker to check missing dependencies.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: dll deployment

    It says qt5core.dll is missing from the system. But windeployqt has put qt5core.dll in the same folder.
    But still not working. Checked with dependency walker and it works on my computer. But on my client machine it fails.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: dll deployment

    "In the same folder" as what?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: dll deployment

    I used windeployqt and it generated all the dependencies in the same folder where my executable resides. And I just copied the entire folder and pasted it in my client machine and it didn't work.

    And also, can you give me link to statically compiled qt5+qtcreator for x86 and x64 mingw?

    I don't have good hardware to build it myself.

    I could only find qt5 for msvc and not mingw.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: dll deployment

    Quote Originally Posted by freiza View Post
    Checked with dependency walker and it works on my computer. But on my client machine it fails.
    You really need to be specific. What failed? Dependency Walker failed to run? Dependency Walker failed to load one or more of the dependecies of your DLL? (that is DW working BTW). Your DLL fails to load when loaded by whatever program is linked to it?

    Exactly what files have you deployed? List them, don't just say "windeployqt ..." or "all of them." Exactly which folder do they come from on your build machine?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Smile Re: dll deployment

    "My Application DLL" resides with the below mentioned dll in my "c:\somepath\Release folder"
    Qt Code:
    1. icudt53.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    2. icuin53.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    3. icuuc53.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    4. libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    5. libstdc++-6.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    6. libwinpthread-1.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    7. qt5core.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    8. qt5gui.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    9. qt5svg.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    10. qt5widgets.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    11. /iconengines/qsvicon.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder\iconengines"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Inside "c:\somepath\Release folder\imageformats" these dll are present:
    qdds.dll
    qgif.dll
    gicns.dll
    qico.dll
    qjp2.dll
    qjpeg.dll
    qmng.dll
    qsvg.dll
    qtga.dll
    qtiff.dll
    qwbmp.dll
    qwebp.dll


    Inside "c:\somepath\Release folder\platforms
    there is only one dll namely "qwindows.dll"

    So I copied release folder from "c:\somepath\" that contains all the generated dll with correct folder hierarchy with my application dll and put it in my client machine. And when I try to execute my dll it says qt5core.dll is missing from the computer.

    These files weren't generated with windeployqt:
    Qt Code:
    1. libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    2. libstdc++-6.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    3. libwinpthread-1.dll //"c:\somepath\Release folder"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    So I checked with dependency walker. And it suggested me these dll. Hence I put these dll into the release folder. And my program worked fine and dependency walker showed no errors.

    But when I shifted my release folder to client machine. Dependency walker says qt5core is missing though qt5core is present on the same folder with my application dll.

    I linked it to a "TestApplication.EXE" also created with qt and this "TestApplication.EXE" is working fine and dependency walker is showing no errors for this application. even after shifting to my client machine. The "TestApplication.EXE" resides in the same folder where my application dll resides, I mean in "c:\somepath\Release folder"

    whew. That was a lot of typing
    Last edited by freiza; 2nd March 2015 at 01:35.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: dll deployment

    Where did you copy these all files from?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: dll deployment

    When someone types windeployqt executable.[dll/exe]. Then I think these dll are copied from mingw\bin folders into my application directory. (I even copied all these dll files from mingw\bin folder manually but same problem).

    I don't understand that my exe is working fine with those dll's but why my generated dll is not working with the copied dll. Maybe there is some problem with my qt installation.

    Btw, I solved the problem. I used code::block to create dll and now it doesn't require any qt's dll. So my application is working fine.

    You may close this thread if you like.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: dll deployment

    So you never had a Qt DLL or program.

    If you ever do write and deploy a Qt program then ...
    On a quick inspection it seems that you are missing the platform plugin and possibly the ANGLE libraries.
    http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/windows-deploy...cation-package

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Application Deployment
    By mukunda in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th June 2011, 02:30
  2. Desperate for help~~~ Qt 4.6.2 deployment
    By MorrisLiang in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th September 2010, 20:19
  3. A different deployment technique QT. Is it the right way of deployment?
    By Tarun in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th February 2010, 15:45
  4. Qt 4.3: Deployment on MAC
    By Angelo Moriconi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd July 2007, 13:03
  5. deployment of a dll using qt
    By mandal in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2007, 16:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.