Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: runing qt application on Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    22
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default runing qt application on Ubuntu

    Hello,

    I've installed Qt5.5 on Ubuntu 14.04 and I'm trying to run a small application I wrote, but I receive the following error in the "Application Output" window:
    Starting /media/sorin/Windows 7/aplicatie_conturi/build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Release/conturi...
    Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?
    /media/sorin/Windows 7/aplicatie_conturi/build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Release/conturi exited with code -1
    I've changed the permission mode on the folder aplicatie_conturi to 777 and I have the same error. Has anyone an idea what could I do so I could have the application work?

    Thanks in advance!

    P.S. Using chmod 777 -R I have:
    sorin@sorin-K54C:~/Desktop$ ls -la aplicatie_conturi
    total 20
    drwxrwxrwx 5 sorin sorin 4096 iul 6 18:21 .
    drwxr-xr-x 5 sorin sorin 4096 iul 6 18:40 ..
    drwxrwxrwx 2 sorin sorin 4096 iul 6 18:20 build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Debug
    drwxrwxrwx 2 sorin sorin 4096 iul 6 18:21 build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Release
    drwxrwxrwx 4 sorin sorin 4096 iul 6 18:20 conturi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: runing qt application on Ubuntu

    Well, what are the permissions on the executable itself?
    Are you sure this is a Linux build (your path has "Windows 7" in it)?

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    791
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: runing qt application on Ubuntu

    You are using different paths unless you have a symbolic link in play here. First, you show that the path using to start your executable is:

    /media/sorin/Windows 7/aplicatie_conturi/build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Release/
    Then you show the permissions for path:
    ~/Desktop/aplicatie_conturi/build-conturi-Desktop_Qt_5_5_0_GCC_64bit-Release/
    So, you are changing/showing directory permissions for a different directory path than you are using when your program is launched, right?
    I write the best type of code possible, code that I want to write, not code that someone tells me to write!

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Console application in Ubuntu
    By feraudyh in forum Newbie
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th March 2014, 10:51
  2. Ubuntu application deployment
    By budda in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th September 2013, 17:09
  3. I can not Deploying application for ubuntu
    By langziyang in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th November 2010, 07:27
  4. Runing inline evice/adobe reader
    By deimus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th June 2010, 07:19
  5. runing from .exe and pictures
    By Arisss in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th January 2010, 17:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.