View Poll Results: Do you use the designer for your gui?

Voters
661. You may not vote on this poll
  • Always. I almost don't know how to layout widgets manually.

    193 29.20%
  • Designer? What is that? Nope, never use it.

    111 16.79%
  • Depends and the task. Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

    357 54.01%
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 81

Thread: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I created widget using designer and connection using manually.......

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE USA
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Always the designer.

    I also avoid using "clever code" which will give trouble to those that are going to be supporting my aps after June of next year. Writing "inspired" code which you can't figure out when you are not so "inspired" is foolish. The maintainers will hate you for it.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Thank you for this discussion. Because of this I have finally took the time to learn using the forms, excelent.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Caracas - Venezuela
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    At the possible I use designer. But if I would know , I would use a text editor.
    Colombo C. Da Encarnaçao Q.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I started with Qt4, and i started with the designer. I always had problems with the designer-generated UIs, i could not handle them. So i mainly use it now to visualize what i want to do and then hardcode it. One problem with generated widgets i had was that they never adjusted their size to the widget or mainwindow that contained them.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by C167 View Post
    One problem with generated widgets i had was that they never adjusted their size to the widget or mainwindow that contained them.
    It's a matter of installing a top-level layout on the form. Deselect child widgets and choose a layout from the Form-menu (or context menu or toolbar).
    J-P Nurmi

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Wink Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Not often, I use the designer when my gui design is very complex because it makes the gui very easily...........otherwise I prefer coding to design gui..................

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Newbie that I am, I generally use the Designer.

    But occasionally when I am trying to add new items, it is a real pain to have to break all the layouts, or have Designer turn your dialog into a tangled mess.

    In those cases I usually manually insert items into the *.ui file, using an XML editor.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    i use designer almost everytime, but in my app i use designer in one form but in the other not..

    and there is 1 proj that i cant use designer cause everything is dynamic..

    in my kind of job where everything has deadline or timelimit or what ever you want to call that.. designer is very helpful..

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Thumbs up Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I have always used designer to design the desired UI.. I really don't get the point why one should hardcode GUI.. In Qt 4, the stylesheets, promoting widgets etc gives you the power to achieve what you want with designer..

    (OR)

    I haven't come across the reqiurement wherby I need to do hardcoding GUI..

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I don't bother with signals/slots in them. Because the designer creates ugly naming of the slots. etc. But I use it everything else, but depending on what I need it for.
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I mostly used the designer with KDevelop3. I'm still not exactly sure what is the right way to use it (or, the preferred way) I've been creating Qt apps with KDevelop, as well as with Eclipse. As I understand it, the first encourages subclassing, the latter encourages using the UI as a member. Now I'd like to know what most of the users of Qt prefer....

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I use the designer for simple dialogs only.

    The feature I would really need is being able to put a _subclassed_ widget onto the form. If there is already such a functionality, I don't know how to use it... What I can do is to use the Qt provided widgets only, but usually I'd like to work with eg. MyTabWidget instead of QTabWidget. I'd welcome Visual Studio's convenient solution in the designer for this issue.

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by lenardpi View Post
    The feature I would really need is being able to put a _subclassed_ widget onto the form. If there is already such a functionality, I don't know how to use it... What I can do is to use the Qt provided widgets only, but usually I'd like to work with eg. MyTabWidget instead of QTabWidget.
    Yes, it's possible. See Promoting Widgets for more details.
    J-P Nurmi

  15. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    Ashkan_s (19th September 2012)

  16. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I mostly use Designer for prototypes while I do the rest by hand.

  17. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jarrell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I don't use QT Designer ever.
    I guess I'm just old school and prefer controlling everything in my own code.
    I also find QTs syntax for building layouts very intuitive so it's easy for me.

    Karl

  18. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    %80 manually which is the best

  19. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Honestly, dealing with layouts in qDesigner is bad and waste of time. If they add an anchors property for each visual control, it should become more easy, more comfortable and faster way to develop GUIs.

  20. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Honestly, NO! And it seems this is not only my opinion. Have a look at the other thread you started. Qt has one of the most advanced, flexible, easy to use layout systems I've ever seen. Sorry to say that, but anchors suck. You cannot design a good user interface with anchors

    Qt's layouts are very simple. And that's what makes them very powerful. Just have a serious look at them, and I'm sure you will find out how you can achieve whatever you want it to be. With anchors, you just cannot...

    Damn, in my opinion even Java's layouts are superiour to the anchor approach. And I really scorn most of Java's built-in layouts...

  21. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by thiforums View Post
    Honestly, dealing with layouts in qDesigner is bad and waste of time. If they add an anchors property for each visual control, it should become more easy, more comfortable and faster way to develop GUIs.
    What do you mean anchors?
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 11:52
  3. Problem closing a QMainWindow in Qt4.2
    By ian in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th October 2006, 00:49
  4. Where is code file
    By safknw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 10:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.