View Poll Results: Do you use the designer for your gui?

Voters
661. You may not vote on this poll
  • Always. I almost don't know how to layout widgets manually.

    193 29.20%
  • Designer? What is that? Nope, never use it.

    111 16.79%
  • Depends and the task. Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

    357 54.01%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 81

Thread: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by ComaWhite View Post
    What do you mean anchors?
    Basically it's a kind of layout where you tell widgets how to align with respect to the window they are in, or other controls in said window. Have a look at Up this topic if you wanna QDesigner with an Anchors property!, anchors are described there.

    (By the way, is there an easy way to link to other threads in this forum, other than copying their URL? Or a way to link to specific posts in a thread?)

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Oh gawd. Not those "anchors" like in C# WinForms. I hate those. Such a freaking pain to work with.
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I totally agree. I guess whoever prefers anchors to Qt's layout system just doesn't understand how layouts work. Or has never designed anything even remotely complex. I have never seen anything that is easier to use or more powerful than Qt's layouts. It just rocks

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I remember always thinking absolute positioning was the way to go. When I first tried a different library like Gtkmm back then. I laughed at the layouts and I hated them. Now I love them :O
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,356
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,010 Times in 4,789 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Blog Entries
    4
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by rexi View Post
    (By the way, is there an easy way to link to other threads in this forum, other than copying their URL? Or a way to link to specific posts in a thread?)
    Just seen this post... Yes, you can use the [thread] or [post] bbcode tags as documented here: BBCode help
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    rexi (30th April 2009)

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Thanks. That should make it easier to point others to the right answers

  8. #47
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Designer makes life easier

  9. #48
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default I use the designer exclusively ...

    I use the designer exclusively because I usually don't need more than functionality that's offered in Qt libraries and because I don't want to spend a lot of time time on the interface.

    I think programming GUIs is boring and a huge unproductive time-sink. The Designer saves me an enormous amount of time. Usually I just want to get the main functionality done, and wrapped up in a usable GUI. If I can't build the GUI using standard elements in the designer, I won't take the time to do it.

    Besides which ... I haven't taken the time to learn many of all those Qt gui-oriented Qt classes, and if I can use the Designer to get what I want, I'm certainly in no rush to do so.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunny Darwin, NT Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    All the time !!
    I have to say this is the best IDE I've used...period.
    I've paid thousands of dollars for IDE's in the past and this one kills them all...and it's FREE ???

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Must of the times I like to layout widgets by my self, in small projects like the ones I work in there is no really necessity for the designer.
    class newbie: public QWidget { };

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I prefer Designer. It Rocks

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by yogeshgokul View Post
    I prefer Designer. It Rocks
    it sux big O time..
    only VB ppl use toys.

  14. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
    it sux big O time..
    only VB ppl use toys.
    In my limited experience, I never found designer barring me to achieve what I want from Qt.
    And I never used VB.

  15. #54
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    hmm.. but i dont like it..

  16. #55
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    When I started with QT 4.5 I tried out the designer, but quickly felt like it wasn't helping me understand how the classes worked and how I could write special functions for the designer generator classes.

    Since then I only "write" my GUIs, that way I fell like i have more control over my app.

  17. #56
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    When I last played with Qt I only ever used the designer for the most basic apps as it seemed far too restricted. Now I always use it. If a widget doesn't do what I want, I just promote it, write some code, and back to the designer. Much better than throwing widgets on a form as place holders which is what I had to do before (and then got confused, and eventually stopped using the designer).

  18. #57
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Buraidah
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Qt Designer makes ugly code
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/24714/image/1/
    The Linux Counter Project - user number # 497262
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29025

  19. #58
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I think you mean UIC makes ugly code as QT Designer only generates XML files

    I thought about recompiling UIC before, but never got around to it.

  20. #59
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Well as far as my personal experience is concerned, it depends on the requirement as well.
    Sometimes we prepared a common base UI and customize it to various dialogs. In this case we need to show/hide some controls and realign the layouts in the source.

    But if there were no derived class dependencies, designer would be the best option.
    Gopikrishna

  21. #60
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tashkent, Uzbekistan
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I use it only for simple dialogs or when I need to see how it will fit the screen. Never use it for console apps and GL Widgets or QGraphicSceens. But it is one of the best GUI makers available now. Though there are a lot to do with usability which is IMHO not the best.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 11:52
  3. Problem closing a QMainWindow in Qt4.2
    By ian in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th October 2006, 00:49
  4. Where is code file
    By safknw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 10:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.