Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: lib file is empty on fresh install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default lib file is empty on fresh install

    Hello! I've spent a little while trying to install qwt and I've run into something strange.
    I am running OSX mavericks, Qt 5.5, trying to install qwt 6.1.2

    Every time I try and compile through Qt creator, I get a "framework not found qwt". I know I linked correctly,
    following the format as set out by the Qt Documentation.
    Qt Code:
    1. QMAKE_LFLAGS += -F/usr/local/qwt-6.1.1/lib/
    2. LIBS += -framework qwt
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The strange part is, when I go to usr/local/qwt-6.1.2/lib/ , it is empty. There was a .framework file there and now there is not.

    Here is my .pro file
    Qt Code:
    1. QT += core gui
    2. QT += widgets
    3. CONFIG += c++11
    4. CONFIG += qwt
    5. DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0
    6.  
    7. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets
    8.  
    9. TARGET = myAPP
    10. TEMPLATE = app
    11.  
    12. SOURCES += main.cpp\
    13. mainwindow.cpp
    14.  
    15. HEADERS += mainwindow.h
    16.  
    17. FORMS += mainwindow.ui
    18.  
    19. INCLUDEPATH += /usr/local/qwt-6.1.1/src/
    20. include(/usr/local/qwt-6.1.1/qwt.prf)
    21. QMAKE_LFLAGS += -F/usr/local/qwt-6.1.1/lib/
    22. LIBS += -framework qwt
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: lib file is empty on fresh install

    I'm building qwt-6.1.4, exactly the same issue as yours...
    Welcome to Vision Open
    http://www.visionopen.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,188
    Thanked 843 Times in 792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: lib file is empty on fresh install

    I don't have a Mac myself and have no clue what this is about. But when you don't have CONFIG += silent in your project file you can check the commands being executed by your Makefile.

    Note, that in the project File from the original posting 3 of the last 4 lines are pointless/wrong: when including the prf file ( CONFIG += qwt would do the same ) everything should be set up properly. Setting QMAKE_LFLAGS is pointless and setting the INCLUDEPATH to a directory, that does not exist in a proper install, might indicate, that the installation was not correct at all.

    So please do a proper build of Qwt first. Check if QwtFramework gets enabled in qwtconfig.pri and do: qmake + make + make install. Then build your application including qwt.prf without adding any extra line beside this include.
    Then check the commands processed by the Makefile, where things are going wrong.

    Uwe

    PS: note, that some Linux distros do not install the qmake feature files properly - if yours has been build somewhere else it is worth to check it too.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Creator [solved]fresh ubuntu install: <algorithm> not found
    By tuli in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd February 2014, 20:29
  2. Fresh Install QT5 compiler issues.
    By rokit_armor in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd December 2012, 17:20
  3. Fresh Install - No Valid QT VersionSDKMaintenanceTool
    By Atomic_Sheep in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd September 2012, 04:06
  4. compiling hello world after fresh install fails
    By kvesi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th September 2008, 13:55
  5. Program not compiling on Fresh install of Leopard
    By dvmorris in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2007, 10:22

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.