Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Where are my Qt .lib files??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Where are my Qt .lib files??

    I've just downloaded/installed Qt4.2.3 using Mingw on WindowsXP. All of the demos I compiled/tested work fine.

    My bin directory has 24 Qt*.dll files. These exact same files are in my "lib" directory, as well. (all built at the same time, this morning). However, there are no Qt*.lib files in the lib directory.

    I am trying to build a Coin3d MSVC++ project which has links to the following four .lib files:

    $(QtDIR)\lib\QtOpenGLd4.lib
    $(QtDIR)\lib\QtGuid4.lib
    $(QtDIR)\lib\QtCored4.lib
    $(QtDIR)\lib\Qt3Supportd4.lib

    but there are no Qt*.lib files anywhere in my $(QtDIR) directory. Should there be? Did I install Qt incorrectly?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Do you have dlls in your lib folder?
    There's something wrong there. You should only have lib files there.
    Maybe you didn't compile it correctly.

  3. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    vonCZ (17th April 2007)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Yes, .dll's in the lib directory.

    Thanks for the feedback- i suspected this was odd, but wasn't positive. I'll rebuild, see what happens.

    Given that there are currently no *.lib files in the lib directory, I'm surprised all of the demos compiled correctly.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Maybe they were built someplace else. What options did you use when you compiled Qt? Maybe you provided a custom lib directory...

    Regards

  6. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    vonCZ (17th April 2007)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    I just search my whole drive; there are no Qt*.lib files anywhere.

    It seems I've made a mess of the installation. First, I absent-mindedly ran the

    Qt 4.2.3 (Build Debug Libraries)

    program/routine.

    When this failed to generate the .lib files (it created only the Qt*d*.dlls), I then ran "configure" in the

    Qt 4.2.3 (Command Prompt)

    shell, and then typed/ran "mingw32-make".

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??


    Well, build it again...

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    MinGW doesn't use "lib" files. Instead it has .a files. If you want to use a dll for msvc, you need Qt compiled for msvc as well. To do that you may have a look at our wiki, there are instructions how to do it.

  10. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (17th April 2007)

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    sorry, one more question. From the instructions:

    If you later need to reconfigure and rebuild Qt from the same location, ensure that all traces of the previous configuration are removed by entering the build directory and typing make confclean before running configure again.

    When I do this, I receive the following error message:

    mingw32-make: *** No rule to make target `confclean'. Stop.


    I tried "make clean", which removed many files (although the .dlls and .exe demo files are still present). Think I should just go ahead w/the rebuild? (it takes a couple hours)

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    MinGW doesn't use "lib" files. Instead it has .a files. If you want to use a dll for msvc, you need Qt compiled for msvc as well. To do that you may have a look at our wiki, there are instructions how to do it.

    oooh... ok. I should have pointed out that the lib directory did contain the 24 Qt*.a files.

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Of course it did. Because you have a MinGW based installation, not MSVC based one.

  14. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (19th April 2007)

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    I've followed the instructions on the Wiki page ("Qt with Visual Studio") and have run into an early snag: compiling qmake.

    I'm using the Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition, so I ran qconfigure in the Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt as follows:

    qconfigure msvc2005 -prefix F:\Qt4_msvc -release -fast

    When I get to the "Going to compile qmake now\n Continue? (Y/N):" prompt and type y <enter>, i immediately get the following error message:

    Cannot open include file: 'Windows.h' : No such file or directory.

    The environment variable for INCLUDE is:

    INCLUDE=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\INCLUDE

    Though this directory exists (and has a few include files like stdlib.h, stdio.h, etc), there's no "Windows.h" file. This Windows.h file is here, however:

    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK for Windows Server 2003\Include

    Do I need to add this 2nd include directory to the Environment? How?

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    You need to download the SDK for MSVC Express.

  17. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (19th April 2007)

  18. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    I have already... unless I'm missing something.

    When I installed MSVC++ 2005 Express a month ago, I went to this site:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/ex...alc/usingpsdk/

    and followed the instructions. I have been able to create Win32 applications within the MSVC++ software; the appropriate include/bin/lib directories are found (in the *SDK*2003 R2 directory).

    But when I try to compile qmake from the qconfig program: these SDK bin/lib/include directories aren't properly referenced.

  19. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    You probably forgot to tell Visual Studio where to look for additional includes.

  20. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (19th April 2007)

  21. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    no, I did tell it, per the instructions on the webpage I linked. And I can compile/link/run other programs requiring Windows.h, just not this one.

    My guess: the instructions for pointing to the new include/bin/lib directories don't apply for programs built using the "Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt", but I cannot find how to fix it.

  22. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    You can set the paths for include/dll from the project properties, in Visual Studio.

  23. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Quote Originally Posted by vonCZ View Post
    My guess: the instructions for pointing to the new include/bin/lib directories don't apply for programs built using the "Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt", but I cannot find how to fix it.
    Probably the simplest way to make it work is to tweak the BAT file that comes with VS that sets all the paths for the command prompt.

  24. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (19th April 2007)

  25. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    Probably the simplest way to make it work is to tweak the BAT file that comes with VS that sets all the paths for the command prompt.
    woo-hoo! Yep, that's gotta be it. I found a different wiki-page here:

    http://qtnode.net/wiki/Qt4_with_Visual_Studio

    than the qtcentre Wiki page, that includes specific instructions for MSVC++ Express users, including instructions for editing the vsvars32.bat file. Gotta run now; will try it later tonight. Thanks for the help.

  26. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    Yes... Ours should include them as well, but Johan "forgot" to write them

  27. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    vonCZ (19th April 2007)

  28. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rakovnik, Czech Republic
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where are my Qt .lib files??

    thanks all; it's a go.

    btw, there's some variation between the 2 wikis--the qtcentre one, and the one linked above--in addition to the aforementioned msvc++ 2005 Express special instructions. I followed the instructions in link above with no problems. thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem converting .ui files from Qt3 to 4
    By Amanda in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th October 2006, 04:34
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd September 2006, 08:04
  3. UTF-16 files
    By jcr in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th September 2006, 12:43
  4. [Win32/VC++ 8.0] Strange problems with qrc_*.cpp files
    By mloskot in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th March 2006, 10:28
  5. Visual Studio 2003 and .vcproj files
    By mbjerkne in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st February 2006, 00:51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.