Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: How to synchronize/get data from server?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question How to synchronize/get data from server?

    Hello everyone!

    I have been doing a really small app for myself (hobby).
    Is it possible to get data from some webpage or server? For example, by pressing the PULL button I want to get live currency rates from some website (e.g. http://www.xe.com/) and put them into my inputs...
    ww1SyC1.png

    Is it possible? Can you give me some hints how to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to synchronize/get data from server?

    Often the developers of these sites have implemented an API for this purpose, using SOAP, JSON or some similar protocol. The site you give has such an API: http://www.xe.com/xecurrencydata/, but it isn't free. There are some free ones out there.

    Qt has classes for implementing JSON-based protocol. SOAP is XML-based, and Qt has XML classes too. And classes for HTTP communication with servers. Look at the examples and tutorials that came with your Qt installation.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    fearlay (23rd May 2016)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th September 2015, 09:40
  2. saving data to server through QTcpSocket
    By toufic.dbouk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th January 2013, 22:48
  3. Synchronize data with server
    By plopes21 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2012, 01:14
  4. server not getting client data
    By raj_iv in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st May 2011, 09:30
  5. Sql Server cannot retrieve data from select
    By Atomino in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th September 2006, 17:37

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.