Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Nr San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    I'm running Debian Jessie and qtcreater 3.2.1 with qt 5.3.2, all installed with the debian package manager. The path to qmake is correct for 3.2.1. I've downloaded qwt 6.1.2. Installation goes well with qmake and make until make trips up on designer with the following messages:

    ...
    cd designer/ && ( test -e Makefile || /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/bin/qmake /home/jeh/qwt-6.1.2/designer/designer.pro -o Makefile ) && make -f Makefile
    Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: designer
    Makefile:170: recipe for target 'sub-designer-make_first-ordered' failed
    make: *** [sub-designer-make_first-ordered] Error 3

    Can anyone shed any light on this? qtcreator works as I have used it to make executables.

    I added the path to the QT plugin directory but it did not help. It sounded like this path problem only shows up in qtcreator after installation of qwt, but I tried anyway:
    jeh@Mini:~/qwt-6.1.2/designer$ echo $QT_PLUGIN_PATH
    /usr/local/qwt-6.1.2/plugins:/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/plugins


    OK, here's some more detail. This is definately over my head :-(
    I noticed that LSB is mentioned, so I made sure that I have the complete lsb package installed. No change.

    After setting the -d flag for make, here's the section of of the Makefile that fails:

    cd designer/ && ( test -e Makefile || /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/bin/qmake /home/jeh/qwt-6.1.2/designer/designer.pro -o Makefile ) && make -f Makefile
    Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: designer
    Makefile:170: recipe for target 'sub-designer-make_first-ordered' failed
    make: *** [sub-designer-make_first-ordered] Error 3

    And here is the debug output from make for the interesting section:

    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:122: lib := Qt5Core
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:123: LINKAGE := -lQt5Core
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:125: evaluating test function "contains"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:125: calling built-in contains(QT_CONFIG, rpath)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:125: test function returned false
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:125: taking else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:125: finished else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: evaluating test function "contains"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: calling built-in contains(MODULE_CONFIG, staticlib)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: test function returned false
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: taking else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: finished else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: leaving block, okey=true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:130: finished then branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:136: LIBS := -L/home/jeh/qwt-6.1.2/../lib -lqwt -lQt5Gui -lQt5Core
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:137: evaluating test function "export"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:137: calling built-in export(LIBS)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:137: test function returned true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: NOT
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: evaluating test function "isEmpty"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: calling built-in isEmpty(QMAKE_LSB)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: test function returned true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: taking else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: finished else branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: leaving block, okey=true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: finished then branch
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:139: leaving block, okey=true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:170: test function returned true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:170: leaving block, okey=true
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:170: done looping
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: NOT
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: evaluating test function "isEmpty"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: calling built-in isEmpty(BAD_QT)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: test function returned false
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: AND
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: evaluating test function "error"
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: calling built-in $$replace(BAD_QT, _private$, -private)
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: calling built-in error("Unknown module(s) in QT: designer")
    Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: designer
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt_functions.prf:172: aborting block, function status: error
    DEBUG 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/mkspecs/features/qt.prf:63: aborting block, function status: error


    And I think this is the section of qt_functions.prf where make finds the error:

    # qt variable, libs variable
    defineTest(qtAddModules) {
    # qmake variables cannot contain dashes, so normalize the names first
    $$1 = $$replace($$1, -private$, _private)
    # Topological resolution of modules based on their QT.<module>.depends variable
    $$1 = $$resolve_depends($$1, "QT.")
    # Finally actually add the modules
    unset(BAD_QT)
    for(QTLIB, $$1) {
    QTLIBNAME = $$eval(QT.$${QTLIB}.name)
    isEmpty(QTLIBNAME) {
    BAD_QT += $$QTLIB
    next()
    }

    target_qt:isEqual(TARGET, $$QTLIBNAME) {
    warning("$$TARGET cannot have a $$1 of $$QTLIB")
    next()
    }

    qtAddModule($$QTLIB, $$2) <<<<<<------line 170
    }
    !isEmpty(BAD_QT):error("Unknown module(s) in $$1: $$replace(BAD_QT, _private$, -private)")
    }
    Last edited by MrPorcine; 24th May 2016 at 00:35. Reason: Added more detail

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Nr San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    I found another machine with the exact same Debian Jessie setup and repeated the whole qwt installation process and got the same error. So it seems that there must be either something missing from Jessie, or there is a bug in the qwt installation scripts that shows up in Jessie.

    Then I created a new installation of Debian Testing (Stretch). Jessie is Debian Stable. I repeated the exact same installation process (debian package manager to get the compilers, qtcreator, etc., then download qwt and install). This worked. So I now have a working qwt installation, abet not on the machine that I'd like it on.

    I'm still open to any suggestions on how to get this to work on Jessie.

    Jim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPorcine View Post
    cd designer/ && ( test -e Makefile || /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/bin/qmake /home/jeh/qwt-6.1.2/designer/designer.pro -o Makefile ) && make -f Makefile
    Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: designer
    Obviously the designer has been disabled when building the Qt version you are trying to build Qwt with. If you are not interested in the Qwt designer plugin you can simply disable building it in qwtconfig.pri - otherwise you have to build Qt with designer enabled.

    Uwe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Nr San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Obviously the designer has been disabled when building the Qt version you are trying to build Qwt with. If you are not interested in the Qwt designer plugin you can simply disable building it in qwtconfig.pri - otherwise you have to build Qt with designer enabled.

    Uwe
    I think designer is installed and working. I can bring up designer from the command line, or use it within qtcreator. QWT doesn't find it though. Designer V5.3.2.

    I have another data point. As noted above I installed Debian Testing and got QT and QWT to work correctly. Because of some other issues I did a fresh install of Testing on the same machine ... and this time QWT once again couldn't find designer. So there must be some path through the install process that works, while other paths do not. I still don't have a clue as to what is wrong.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPorcine View Post
    I think designer is installed and working. I can bring up designer from the command line, or use it within qtcreator. QWT doesn't find it though. Designer V5.3.2.
    This has nothing to do with Qwt - it is qmake that fails and you could check your installation easily without Qwt using a simple project file containing the lines:
    Qt Code:
    1. CONFIG += qt plugin
    2. QT += designer
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    When doing a "ldd libqwt_designer_plugin.so" on my box it spits out: libQt5Designer.so.5 => /disk/local/Qt-5.7.0-rc/lib/libQt5Designer.so.5
    Guess this lib ( and the includes for it ) are missing in the installation, where your qmake is relating.

    Once you have successfully built your the plugin you might have problems to load it in the creator, when this one had been built with a different Qt version. The designer is usually no problem as it is built together with the Qt library.

    Uwe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Nr San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails

    I'm reasonable sure that designer was installed correctly as I have used it to create (non QWT) applications. At this point I believe that the problem is with the contents of the Debian QT packages. The libraries for designer are present, but the header files are not. There is no *designer-dbg package in the Debian package library. So I gave up on Debian package management for QT, removed all the QT stuff (dpkg remove ...), download the open-source installer from www.qt and installed it. Then I installed QWT and all works fine. Why did QT and QWT first work with Debian Testing, then did not after a re-install? My only guess is that there was in intervening update to QT that broke the package.

    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2013, 11:39
  2. How to install widget plugin for designer
    By zgulser in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th April 2012, 20:37
  3. how to install qt designer plugin?
    By tomkonikkara in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th August 2011, 13:10
  4. install NAS : can't find some lib
    By Kunkka in forum General Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th April 2011, 10:44
  5. install Qt Designer standalone?
    By navr91 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th August 2009, 07:44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.