Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: A strange set of characters appearing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    21
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default A strange set of characters appearing

    Hello,
    I have attached a copy of a layout that is showing the description of a group box on the screen.

    I've also attached the .cpp file that is causing this.

    Why is the string "Garbage Settin" appearing on this dialog. The string comes from line #83 of the attached suplicantsettings.cpp file.

    - Bruce
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    21
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    It appears that something is getting painted onto the screen, and this is the portion that gets left over.

    Still not sure why or what is getting painted.

    I am using QStackedWidgets on this page. Maybe it has something to do with that.
    - BRC
    Last edited by bruccutler; 3rd April 2007 at 19:00. Reason: Additional information

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    Where do you want to place pMainGroupBox?

    Do you want it to appear right under the existing widgets?
    If so, you should try adding the pMainGroupBox to the existing layout.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    21
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    The group box is appearing just fine exactly where I want it. This just appears out of no where.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    Well, something is going wrong.

    Make sure there are no layout connections or parent/child relations between the two group boxes/QStackWidget pages( assuming you want the second group box appearing as a separate page in the stack widget ).

    BTW, how do you add the widgets in the stack widget?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    21
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    I've finally had time to get back to this. For some reason, now I'm seeing two stacked widgets on top of one another. I've set a breakpoint and the setCurrentIndex(x) for that page never gets called, but until it does, that page appears with all of the other pages.

    Any ideas what might be causing this?

    I'm doing a m_pStackedWidget = new StackedWidgetConfig();
    m_pStackedWidget->addWidget()
    ...
    m_pStackedWidget->addWidget()

    The one that is giving me the first is the second to last widget. The last one works just fine.

    Is there a max number of widgets? Any other ideas would be appreciated.
    - BRC

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    Could you post the code where you add the pages to the stacked widget?
    Have you modified in any way your QStackedWidget subclass?

  8. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    bruccutler (19th April 2007)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    21
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Smile Re: A strange set of characters appearing

    Found the problem. In my problem class, I was subclassing QDialog instead of QWidget.

    Thanks for your help.
    - Bruce

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 31st January 2020, 18:25
  2. Insertion of unicode characters into database oracle through pro c
    By hemananda choudhuri in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2007, 10:42
  3. very strange behaviour
    By regix in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 20th July 2006, 17:38
  4. [Win32/VC++ 8.0] Strange problems with qrc_*.cpp files
    By mloskot in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th March 2006, 10:28

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.