Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    Hi everyone.
    I upgraded my version from 3.6.0 to 4.0.3, however I now can't seem to get it to show warnings.
    When I purposely put a coding error and do a build, it will display the error in the "Issues" area.
    However, when I correct the error, it doesn't show any warnings (of which there were several when I used 3.6.0, example "no return value" for a function).
    Under the "issues" tab I have selected the option to show warnings, and under the "Debugger console" I have selected all 3 options, i.e. show info, warnings and errors.

    If there is more info that I need to provide, please let me know and I will respond, but if anyone can assist me I would really appreciate it.

    Other info of my system...
    Windows 8.1

    DEBUG
    Build steps
    qmake: qmake.exe FettlingSIMS.pro -r -spec win32-g++ "CONFIG+=debug" "CONFIG+=qml_debug"
    Make: mingw32-make.exe in C:\Users\svanwyngaard\SkyDrive\Personal\Qt Coding\FettlingSIMS

    Clean steps
    Make: mingw32-make.exe clean in C:\Users\svanwyngaard\SkyDrive\Personal\Qt Coding\FettlingSIMS

    RELEASE
    Build steps
    qmake: qmake.exe FettlingSIMS.pro -r -spec win32-g++
    Make: mingw32-make.exe in C:\Users\svanwyngaard\SkyDrive\Personal\Qt Coding\FettlingSIMS

    Clean steps
    Make: mingw32-make.exe clean in C:\Users\svanwyngaard\SkyDrive\Personal\Qt Coding\FettlingSIMS


    Added after 5 minutes:


    I got them back now, thanks.
    I did a project clean, and then a rebuild, and now it shows all 22 warnings.
    Strange that they weren't there before, unless I am missing something with the build process (likely, as I don't know the process!).
    But why would the warnings not come up every single time until they are fixed? Regardless of doing a clean first or not...?
    Last edited by ShamusVW; 15th July 2016 at 07:51.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    Maybe those warnings were not in files that needed to be rebuilt?

    When you said you fixed an error, did that file contain any of these warnings?

    If not, these files might have simply already have been built in a previous run.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    I purposely added an error into it but just typing an arbitrary letter into the code, and then built it again.
    The error showed up, not any of the warnings. I fixed the error, built it again, but still no warnings appeared.
    Only when I did a clean and the build again, did 22 (existing) warnings pop up that I was working on in when I had the file open in the previous Qt Creator version.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    Interesting.

    Warnings should show up when the file that contains them is being compiled.
    Once it is compiled it is only linked during the next build though.

    In your case the warnings in the file that you fixed should have showed up.

    Next time you see this, check the "compile output" tab to see if the compiler reported the warnings and QtCreator just didn't pick them up

    Cheers,
    _

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    Once I clean, then rebuild, it shows warnings.
    If I rebuild straight away again (without a "clean" first), the warnings disappear.
    The only way to see them again is to again first clean, then rebuild.
    Not sure if this is intended, but a bit annoying as without thinking to clean first, a person will tend to think that everything is sorted.

    Oh yes, no warning messages under the compiler output when not showing warnings.


    12:12:47: Running steps for project FettlingSIMS...
    12:12:47: Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.
    12:12:47: Starting: "C:\Qt\Tools\mingw492_32\bin\mingw32-make.exe"
    C:/Qt/Tools/mingw492_32/bin/mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory 'C:/Users/s.../SkyDrive/Personal/Qt Coding/FettlingSIMS'
    mingw32-make[1]: Nothing to be done for 'first'.
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory 'C:/Users/s.../SkyDrive/Personal/Qt Coding/FettlingSIMS'
    12:12:47: The process "C:\Qt\Tools\mingw492_32\bin\mingw32-make.exe" exited normally.
    12:12:47: Elapsed time: 00:00.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: New version of Qt Creator not showing warnings

    This is expected.

    That output indicates that no file was compiled.

    The compiler can only report warnings when it is actually trying to compile a file.

    What you initially described was a situation where you fixed an error in a file that also had warnings.
    And then, when compiling this file right after the change that fixed the error, you did not get any warnings.
    That was unexpected, because the change meant that the file had to be compiled again and that should have resulted in warnings.
    You need to look at the compile output for that case.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. What is the best version of Qt creator?
    By lorena in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th April 2016, 19:50
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st August 2015, 20:25
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd November 2014, 19:05
  4. Qt creator not showing Arabic alphabets.
    By toufic.dbouk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 9th November 2013, 11:21
  5. Qt Creator 2.2.1 not showing variables on Mac
    By dave2k in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd August 2011, 21:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.