Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Smile Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Hi!


    Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?
    I remember in other projects I could see a new tab was creeated, but not in this one.

    Do you know what could be the reason?

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Why, when you ask a question, don't you provide a clear explanation of what puzzles you and enough contextual data for it to be analyzed by others so that they might answer you question?

    Do you have any screenshot/video demonstrating the issue? Or a minimal sample code reproducing it? Or, at least, a (presumably not minimal) piece of code related to dock widget management in the app that exhibits this behavior?
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Smile Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    There is no code, as I'm using only Designer. Likely I could explain it better, but my English is so rusty

    This it what happens:

    1 I have 3 docks.
    2 Move one over another and I see a tab, but still didn't release the mouse button
    3 I release the mouse button, tab is not created and the old dock disappears.
    (I 'd like to see tabs and I wouldn't like one dock disappears)

    Please, see 3 attached pictures.

    Why does Qt have this behaviour? How can I change it?

    Thanks a lot for your time.

    1


    2


    3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Can you provide the ui file? Which Qt version are you using?
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Thanks for reply.

    Version 4.5.0 Open Source Edition.

    It seems there is something wrong with:
    AllowTabbedDocks
    ForceTabbedDocks
    I set them to true but my UI ignores them.

    I upload the .ui file, maybe I forgot another configuration.

    Thanks for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Well, I know where the problem is:

    I have 4 docks, an 4 menus at the barmenu where I can show/hidde any docks, so I added 4 signals to show/hidde docks.
    If I delete them, everything works as expected (tabs are created), but I really want to be able to shw/hidde docks from menubar.

    Any idea? You can try it downloading my UI file.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Why when I move a QDockWidget over another, the first becomes hidden?

    Use trigger () signal instead of using toggle() for the menubar actions, this might help.

Similar Threads

  1. QDockWidget magically disapear
    By 1111 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th January 2009, 11:44
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2008, 06:32
  3. Move and resize with layout
    By waediowa in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th May 2008, 08:16
  4. QDockWidget
    By ToddAtWSU in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th November 2007, 13:37
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th September 2006, 06:21

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.