Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

  1. #1

    Default Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    I'm trying to compile Qt 5.9.1 from source on Windows 10 using msvc 2015. My process was as follows:

    1. Installed python 2.7.13, added it to PATH
    2. Set up the qt5vars.cmd file as specified in the documentation (which calls vcvarsall.bat amd64 and sets up PATH)
    3. Installed jom
    4. mkdir build-release, cd build-release
    5. ..\configure -prefix C:\Qt\5.9.1\msvc2015 -nomake examples -opensource
    6. jom (started compilation)


    After a long time, this error pops up:

    Qt Code:
    1. Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 14.10.25019.0
    2. Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    3.  
    4. call C:\Users\i00202504\Downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.9.1\build-release\qtwebengine\src\core\ninja_wrapper.bat -C C:\Users\i00202504\Downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.9.1\build-release\qtwebengine\src\core\Debug_x64 QtWebEngineCore
    5. ninja: Entering directory `C:\Users\i00202504\Downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.9.1\build-release\qtwebengine\src\core\Debug_x64'
    6. [109/15221] COPY ../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/c...emulated_devices/google-nexus-5-horizontal-keyboard-1x.png
    7. FAILED: resources/inspector/emulated_devices/google-nexus-5-horizontal-keyboard-1x.png
    8. python ../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapper.py recursive-mirror ../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/third_party/WebKit/Source/devtools/front_end/emulated_devices/google-nexus-5-horizontal-keyboard-1x.png resources/inspector/emulated_devices/google-nexus-5-horizontal-keyboard-1x.png
    9. Traceback (most recent call last):
    10. File "../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapper.py", line 324, in <module>
    11. sys.exit(main(sys.argv[1:]))
    12. File "../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapper.py", line 27, in main
    13. exit_code = executor.Dispatch(args)
    14. File "../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapper.py", line 69, in Dispatch
    15. return getattr(self, method)(*args[1:])
    16. File "../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapper.py", line 108, in ExecRecursiveMirror
    17. shutil.copy2(source, dest)
    18. File "C:\Python27\lib\shutil.py", line 130, in copy2
    19. copyfile(src, dst)
    20. File "C:\Python27\lib\shutil.py", line 82, in copyfile
    21. with open(src, 'rb') as fsrc:
    22. IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '../../../../../qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/third_party/WebKit/Source/devtools/front_end/emulated_devices/google-nexus-5-horizontal-keyboard-1x.png'
    23. [114/15221] CXX obj/v8/v8_libbase/time.obj
    24. ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.
    25. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'call' : return code '0x1'
    26. Stop.
    27. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.10.25017\bin\HostX64\x64\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
    28. Stop.
    29. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '(' : return code '0x2'
    30. Stop.
    31. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    32. Stop.
    33. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    34. Stop.
    35. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    36. Stop.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    What am I doing wrong?
    "People who get offended should be offended" -- Linus Torvalds

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,987
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 628 Times in 618 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    What am I doing wrong?
    Who knows? It's hard to build Qt from source. The Qt 5.9.1 binaries are available for download from the Qt web site for MSVC 2015 (and others), so just download, install it, and start developing instead of spinning your wheels trying to understand obscure build problems that you'll probably never be able to fix?
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    The reason I'm compiling it is because I'd like to target x64.
    "People who get offended should be offended" -- Linus Torvalds

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,987
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 628 Times in 618 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    Huh, I stand corrected. I have a commercial license for Qt, and when I go in thorough my login there, I see this distribution:

    Package includes following prebuilt binaries:

    Qt for MinGW 5.3.0 32-bit desktop
    Qt for MSVC 2013 64-bit desktop
    Qt for MSVC 2015 32- & 64-bit desktop
    Qt for MSVC 2015 UWP x86, x64 & ARMv7
    Qt for MSVC 2017 64-bit desktop
    Qt for MSVC 2017 UWP x86, x64 & ARMv7
    Qt for Android x86 and ARMv7
    It really sucks that this is not available for download to people who go through the open source route. It really diminishes my respect for The Qt Company if this really is the case.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    On the downloads page, the only option I see is "Qt 5.9.1 for Windows (2.3 GB)", which is the 32-bit package.

    What I ended up doing is not building the QtWebEngine component with:

    Qt Code:
    1. configure -skip qtwebengine
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Since in my case I don't need it, this is fine.
    "People who get offended should be offended" -- Linus Torvalds

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,987
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 628 Times in 618 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    On the downloads page, the only option I see is "Qt 5.9.1 for Windows (2.3 GB)", which is the 32-bit package.
    Yes, that's all I see when I go into the site without logging in. I mistakenly assumed that the distributions I see when I log in are available to everyone.

    But it also sucks that The Qt Company has an open-source source code release that can't be built in its entirety. So not only can you not download pre-built binaries for certain configurations, you also can't build them yourself without excluding parts of them. QtWebEngine -is- part of the pre-built MSVC 2013 x64 release, so obviously The Qt Company can build it internally.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt 5.9.1: No such file or directory

    Hi TheComet.

    I know some time has passed but I was facing the same problem as you for 5.9.2.
    Failing for the same error.
    But I've found the solution.
    You can find it here https://wiki.qt.io/Building_Qt_5_from_Git

    Where it says
    """
    Windows

    Note that if you're shadow-building Qt, the source directory and build directory must be on the same drive, nested equally deeply. Also, make sure there are no old build artifacts in the source directory.
    """
    When they build chromium the have encoded relative paths in the build script.
    So I had the sources in
    c:\qt-5.9.2\
    and I was building in
    c:\build\qt-5.9.2-x64\
    and the build failed
    I changed the build directory to
    c:\build-qt-5.9.2-x64
    and now it works

    I hope this will help you too and the next one will reach this page.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th November 2015, 19:32
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th March 2015, 08:05
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th July 2013, 06:17
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th November 2010, 03:24
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th May 2010, 16:18

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.