Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No debug information shown

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default No debug information shown

    Dear all,

    I'm new to this forum and hope that I found the correct section :-)

    I'm teaching a C++ course in the winter semester and we just switched to Qt and Qt Creator. However I cant get the debugger to work properly.

    I freshly installed the community edition of Qt & Qt Creator and MinGW using the qt online installer. When I now try to explore a segmentation fault using the debugger, there is no debugging information shown at all:

    ScreenshotQtCreator.jpg

    For the example above I just used a piece of code that crashes on purpose:

    Qt Code:
    1. int arr[100];
    2. for (int i = 0; i < 1000; i++)
    3. arr[i] = i;
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I highly appreciate any ideas & comments.

    Thanks,
    Sebastian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No debug information shown

    Are you sure you are running a debug build? (the screenshot is too low resolution to make out anything in it)
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: No debug information shown

    @high_flyer: yes, it is a debug build.


    My original screenshot has a higher resolution, but it seems to get scaled down while uploading.

    Best,
    Sebastian

    Screenshot.jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No debug information shown

    What happens if you set a break point?
    Does it stop on it?
    And if it does, do you get content in call stack view and locals view?
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: No debug information shown

    yes, if I set a break point, everything works as expected. It just doesn't with segfaults in Windows.

    On my Linux machine the same project crashes just fine with all debug infos in the stack view.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st July 2017, 21:26
  2. binary was not built with debug information
    By hxf@dlut.edu.cn in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st March 2016, 09:43
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th August 2011, 00:37
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th September 2010, 11:31
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 20:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.