Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Select point clouds using a cube

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Select point clouds using a cube

    I currently have a code where I can import a point cloud, select a specific area via pcl::visualization::AreaPickingEvent and crop that area out. So far I am selecting the area via VTK rubberband feature (triggered by x or X). However, instead of having a rectangular shape to select the points, I would like to have a cube that would select only the points inside the cube. I am currently using QT, C++, VTK and PCL. Is there any QT function that would do that?

    In Summary:

    What I have now: trigger x, drag a rectangle, crop the area (with the entire depth)

    What I want: drag a cube shape, select the area inside the cube, crop that area out

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,229
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Select point clouds using a cube

    I am not aware of anything in Qt that supports 3D data in the way you are displaying it. Qt uses either a scene model (Qt3D) or an extremely inflexible graphics library (Qt Data Visualization), neither of which is suitable.

    You would be better off asking on the VTK forum. I would be surprised if VTK did not have some means of volume selection, but then the user interaction could be very tricky - it's easy to select a rectangle, but then how do you indicate the depth of the selection at the same time? Possibly you'll need an extra bit to indicate that the next movement is depth - like pressing a shift key or the like.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    Anna1994 (6th February 2019)

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing a cube
    By qt_developer in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th May 2012, 11:59
  2. Drawing a cube
    By qt_developer in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2012, 01:04
  3. cube with widgets
    By mkind in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th April 2011, 07:51
  4. Select Access point And Connect internet for QNetwork S60
    By nhs_0702 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd June 2010, 04:10
  5. how to redraw cube to rectangle
    By wagmare in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th February 2009, 06:26

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.