Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

    Ok

    So my question is this

    Mainly in Linux

    Why do some QT apps only open by using terminal.

    I will download an app and in linux I can click on it and it will run and then Ill download another app and I have to (make sure permissions are correct) But the ./applicatoin-qt to run it.

    What is the reason that it compiles one way to open from terminal and another way to open just by clicking an alias.
    Last edited by TheVoice; 9th February 2019 at 03:23. Reason: Better title description

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,252
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,508 Times in 1,459 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

    All programs can be started through the command line shell or the graphical shell.
    Neither shell really cares about the program it launches.

    The programs themselves can have graphical UI, shell/text based UI or even no UI at all.

    Running the latter two from a graphical shell either requires a terminal application to show their text output or the user will simply not see anything.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

    Sometimes author do trickery with the library path so they can supply their own builds of Qt libraries with their app.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

    Yeah I was just wondering.

    It funny one day you download and it works all in GUI. The next update is only works by ./application-qt

    this is usually the case with blockchain wallets.

    This can be configured when the Qt Compiles to right!

  5. #5

    Default Re: Total Newb Question - Why? Is terrminal the only way to open some qt apps

    thanks for information

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2016, 08:57
  2. Total n00b - Qml beginner question set
    By rajko in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2013, 09:32
  3. Total time in QTimer
    By martisho in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th November 2009, 08:24
  4. Qt listView total height
    By bunjee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th April 2008, 18:16
  5. WinXP - Newb
    By Reenen in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th February 2006, 13:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.