Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: plotting 3D

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    20
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default plotting 3D

    hi. i am using qwt writen by Uwe for plotting 2D that is very usefull for me. Now i need to plot in 3D in Qt. please help me to do this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 649 Times in 639 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: plotting 3D

    As far as I know, there is no general-purpose 3D scientific plotting package using Qt that is similar to Qwt or QCustomPlot. I have looked and looked with no success.

    You can take a look at Qt Data Visualization, but it has a couple of drawbacks: 1) it is licensed as GPL, which means you cannot use it in a commercial application unless you have a Qt Commercial license, and 2) the architecture severely limits what you can do with it. Maybe my opinion is because I am put off by the fact that most of the examples are for QML / QtQuick, but I also don't see where there are straightforward ways to extend the functionality, So I have looked at it, but not in any great detail.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    QJak (21st June 2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,396
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,542 Times in 1,493 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: plotting 3D

    Similar to d_stranz I am not aware of any Qt specific 3D plotting library.

    Many projects seem to use VTK though https://vtk.org/Wiki/VTK

    But anything that renders with OpenGL can probably easily be integrated

    Cheers,
    _

  5. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    QJak (21st June 2019)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    20
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: plotting 3D

    thanks d_sranz and anda_skoa. In my project, i need to do under things:
    1- the project is not commercial
    2- i need to compile static and using stand alone
    3- plotting some points on (x, y, z) and differents color
    4- plotting cube, conic, ... in 3D with abillity of zooming and rotating
    5- plotting lines from some points to another points in 3D with differents color
    6- by clicking on lines or shapes some events must happen( like slot and signal in Qt)
    7- IDE that i will use, must have a good online support like qtcenter

    i am going to research about vtk that anda_skoa told. If another IDE can help me for doing above 7 things, please tell me.
    thanks alot
    Last edited by QJak; 21st June 2019 at 13:37.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 649 Times in 639 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: plotting 3D

    I have seriously considered VTK many times, but it is a very big, powerful, and complex library with a steep learning curve. It can be integrated easily into Qt (there is a QVTKWidget or something like it). But the amount that I would have to learn in order to use it has always stopped me for lack of time.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  8. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    QJak (24th June 2019)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 649 Times in 639 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: plotting 3D

    You have me looking at VTK again. VTK now has a Charts API, which allows you to create interactive 3D plots. The post I linked is old, so no doubt there has been progress since then.

    Creating the simple plot shown in the blog still takes a whole page of code, so it isn't as simple as QCustomPlot, but it is a step in the right direction.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

Similar Threads

  1. plotting 2d in qt
    By buzzz321 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th July 2012, 08:56
  2. Plotting in 3D
    By FelixB in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 16:26
  3. Plotting graph of 1/x
    By Persoontje in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th March 2009, 14:26
  4. Plotting points
    By afflictedd2 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th February 2009, 08:20
  5. How do i get a 2-D plotting widget?
    By superutsav in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 09:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.