Thread: Android GUI development for existing c++ project

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Android GUI development for existing c++ project

Hello everyone.
    I am new to Qt and could really use some help in this one.

What I am trying to do:
    As the title says, I have a rather complex c++ project that runs on terminal which I want to port to mobile.
    This project,in order to execute, takes some user input,calculates the results and then prints them on screen.
    What I want to do is build some simple GUI for Android where the user can input those variables,pass them to the main project and then print the output.
    How can I achieve this in Qt? Can someone put me in the right track on this on what tools do I need for my environment and how to proceed?

Thanks in advance.

Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Re: Android GUI development for existing c++ project

look at: youtube android app qt creator.

3. The following user says thank you to kbsk007 for this useful post:

nandrius (18th October 2019)

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Android GUI development for existing c++ project

You first need a cross-compiler for Android, which you can probably get from Google. This needs to be installed and integrated into your development tool. For Qt Creator, you add it as a kit.

You should then verify that you can actually build your project as-is using the cross-compiler. Install and run the apk on Android to verify it works in terminal mode. You can use VirtualBox to install Android as a virtual machine and run it on your PC inside the VM. Obviously, things like touch probably won't work with the VM, but mouse and keyboard will.

Next, you should implement a GUI in Qt in your PC's native OS (not Android), and get it working. This is far easier than trying to implement it on Android only.