Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Qt 2D performance

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt 2D performance

    I made a program that makes heavy use of 2D drawing operations in QPainter. I'm talking about something in the range of 100.000 filled and unfilled polygons. My observation for a couple of years is that the rendering is by multitudes slower on Windows than Linux or OS X.

    I have a computer with i5-6200U with Win10 and it is slower than on a virtual Linux or OS X on the same hardware with Windows host. Windows takes about 1 second for rendering the scene and Linux/OS X a fraction of a second..

    Now I have a new computer and it is even more weird. It has an AMD Ryzen 5 pro and the rendering in OS X and Linux as expected both faster than on the aforementioned i5-6200U, but in Windows 10 native it is even slower (about 2 seconds now) than on the older i5.

    What is wrong here? Does Qt on Linux and OS X support hardware acceleration while on Windows it uses CPU only? But why is it then slower on the faster Ryzen 5 than the i5? Is the AMD graphics driver so bad?

    I build with Qt Creator on Linux / OS X and Visual Studio on Windows.

    Do I have to compile Qt for myself with ANGLE support?
    Last edited by berliner; 27th October 2019 at 23:45.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,199
    Thanks
    237
    Thanked 668 Times in 658 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt 2D performance

    See this for some information on Qt's graphics drivers under Windows.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 2D performance

    ok, so according to the article, the standard Qt installation comes with "configure -opengl dynamic" and I should be able to switch to ANGLE.

    According to that article I must provide the libEGL DLLs. So I copied
    libEGL.dll
    libGLESv2.dll
    d3dcompiler_47.dll

    to the platforms folder of my application (and also to plugins as well as the root folder as the article is not quite clear about where to place them).

    I open a command prompt, change to the program root and do
    set QT_OPENGL=angle
    I run the program and it behaves just as before. Not sure if I did it right.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,199
    Thanks
    237
    Thanked 668 Times in 658 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt 2D performance

    I run the program and it behaves just as before.
    If your program is using only 2D graphics calls through QPainter it likely isn't using OpenGL at all, in any form, but I think that the graphics calls will still resolve to some underlying Windows driver, like DirectX or GDI/GDI+. I'm not sure how to prove that other than to run a debug version and look at the list of DLLs that get loaded or use Dependency Walker (depends.exe) to do a static analysis.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt GUI Performance Help!
    By SeppBauer in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th July 2013, 06:18
  2. Qwt Performance
    By liran ritkop in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th April 2011, 15:28
  3. Performance
    By manojmka in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th March 2010, 21:00
  4. Qt performance
    By yagabey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd October 2008, 23:05
  5. UDP Performance bad
    By tigertap in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th March 2008, 17:53

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.