Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Failing to start a new Qt program

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Failing to start a new Qt program

    Hello.
    I'm creating a Qt project and receiving the following error in the Application output when running in the release mode:

    Qt Code:
    1. Starting /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Debug/my_project ...
    2. Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?
    3. /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Debug/my_project exited with code -1
    4. The process failed to start. Either the invoked program "/Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Debug/my_project" is missing, or you may have insufficient permissions to invoke the program.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    compile output:

    Qt Code:
    1. Running steps for project my_project...
    2. Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.
    3. Starting: "/usr/bin/make" -j4
    4. make: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    5. The process "/usr/bin/make" exited normally.
    6. Elapsed time: 00:00.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    The same happens in debug mode.


    Current Configurations:
    Mac clang_64(Mac OS Sierra, version 10.12.6)
    Qt 5.6.3
    Qt Creator 4.10.1

    How i'm creating the project:
    • new project -> Qt Widgets Application
    • build system: qmake
    • kit selection: Desktop Qt 5.6.3 clang 64bit2


    My current project settings:

    build settings -> general:
    shadow build is checked
    build directory: /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Release

    run settings -> run:
    executable: /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Release/my_project
    working directory: /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Release/my_project.app/Contents/MacOS

    In the executable field of run settings, my_project doesn't have the .app extension. Could this mean something with the qt not finding my_project?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Failing to start a new Qt program

    However, i am able to run my project directly from: /Users/user/projects/build-my_project-Desktop_Qt_5_6_3_clang_64bit2-Release/my_project.app/Contents/MacOS/my_project, using the terminal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Failing to start a new Qt program

    I was able to run my project by renaming the file "QtProject" in the .config folder, so QtCreator could generate a new "QtProject" file.

    The error "Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?" no longer occurred.

    Maybe there was something wrong with the "QtProject" file, but I have no idea what it was.

Similar Threads

  1. how to start a program in the background
    By JustinTerpstra in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th October 2010, 00:51
  2. Start program with right button
    By Pablo128 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th August 2010, 14:03
  3. Can't start a qt-program on embedded linux
    By Tschounes in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th June 2010, 00:39
  4. add a program to start menu
    By kpmsivachand in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th January 2009, 21:19
  5. QProcess start a console program
    By Shawn in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th November 2007, 13:38

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.