Thread: How to design an interactive image viewer for big gray-scale images

Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default How to design an interactive image viewer for big gray-scale images

Hello Qt users,

I apologize in advance if the answer was already given somewhere. I did some research on many forums and tutorials, but it seemed that I could only find partial answers to my question, so as I am a true beginner in Qt I thought asking real humans could be a good option...

So I would like to create a simple image viewer, but with some specific image constraints and some specific features:

1) image constraints:
    _ suited for satellite images (mainly tiff format) with possibly massive size (up to several giga-pixels)
    _ always displayed as gray-scale images, but with any pixel type and depth (among uint8 uint16, int16, uint32, int32, possibly float32 and float64)
    _ if image contains several bands, just interpret them as a stack of gray-scale images (and for eg. read only one band), never RGB or colored image.
    -> note : the process of reading properly the pixel data from tiff images should to be handled beforehand by gdal library

2) viewer features:
    _ basic "interactive" view using mouse (pan, scroll) with decent execution speed !
    _ possibility to adjust brightness/contrast (for e.g. with sliders)
    _ on-the-fly reading of pixel coordinates (given in "native" image units in case of pan/zoom) and "native" image pixel value. By "native" I mean in the range of original image data (ex: 10,000 x 10,000 pixels with gray-scale in [0;65535] even if the image is displayed with a size of 500 x 500 pixels and gray-scale in [0;255] for example).
    An good example of what I would like to do is the interactive image viewer in QGIS program.

Correct me if I am wrong but it looks like I will have to handle at least 2 versions of my image in parallel, I mean: