Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Check perfomance of QwtPlotCurve with setPaintAttribute for displaying large data

Threaded View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,318
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Check perfomance of QwtPlotCurve with setPaintAttribute for displaying large data

    Antialisasing is a substantial performance killer and does not make much sense in your case - so the first thing you should do is to turn it of. Using a pen width > 1 is another well known problem - one that is not used in your code.

    A general way to improve rendering is to use a hardware accelerated paint engine. On Unix systems this is pretty easy by using the X11 paint engine, that is available in Qt4 or Qt >= 5.10. Unfortunately Qt development decided to make the slow software renderer being the default even on X11 systems, where you have a much better option. On Windows you have to use an OpenGL canvas - or at least have to use the QwtPlotCanvas::OpenGLBuffer option you can find in SVN trunk.

    The FilterPointsAgressive/FilterPoints flags make use of the fact, that when rendering a curve with many points many of them will end up at the same position as others. But for a plot with many curves of a limited number of points these flags won't help much.

    Enabling the MinimizeMemory flag is counterproductive in terms of performance and is of no value when having curves with only 1000 points.

    Uwe

  2. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    Vasya (26th March 2020)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th February 2017, 09:57
  2. Storing and displaying "large" amount of data
    By FreddyKay in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th November 2014, 19:31
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd January 2012, 15:00
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th August 2009, 19:53
  5. QScrollArea not displaying large number of images
    By lpkincaid in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st May 2009, 09:58

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.