Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

    Hello to everyone,
    I'm the maintainer of the Konqueror web browser for Linux (https://kde.org/applications/internet/org.kde.konqueror) and I'm trying to port it from QtWebKit to QtWebEngine, working around its many limitations.

    One of the biggest problems is that Konqueror needs to manage the network requests and responses by itself (or rather, have it managed by the underlying KDE libraries), which isn't allowed by QtWebEngine.

    The only idea that came to my mind is to write an http proxy and integrate it in Konqueror, then make QtWebEngine use it. This way, Konqueror would be able to see the response headers before they reach QtWebEngine and do whatever it needs with them.

    While this works correctly with HTTP URLs it doesn't work with HTTPS because, of course, the proxy only sees the encrypted headers. I'm wondering whether it would be possible for Konqueror to create an SSL certificate and use it to encrypt the communication with QtWebEngine. What I'd hope to do would be something like this:
    -
    • QtWebEngine sends the request to the proxy within Konqueror, encrypted using the key provided by Konqueror itself
    • Konqueror decrypts the request and sends it to the the server as usual
    • Konqueror receives the response from the server and analyzes it
    • Konqueror encrypts the response with its own certificate and sends it to QtWebEngine.


    Unfortunately, QtWebEngine doesn't provide a way to tell it that the certificate provided by Konqueror must be trusted (of course, that certificate can't be installed system-wide). It does have a function which is called in case of a certificate error and which allows to ignore the error. However, my attempts so far have been unsuccessful.

    Is what I'm hoping to achieve really impossible or am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks in advance
    Stefano

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

    You can't do it, man.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Android

    Default Re: Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

    Try to find info about this on Google

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Android

    Default Re: Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanda1YN View Post
    Try to find info about this on Google
    It seems to me that a similar problem occurs on Linux. Basically, everyone who uses proxy servers, they do it on Windows, because there will be fewer problems. By the way, you should review your config, because there are probably errors there. So try to search the Internet for a detailed guide on configuring proxy servers, I think this will help you. And yet, even if you work on Linux, try to set up the servers first on Google Chrome, and not on Konqueror, because it's much easier, as it seems to me.
    Last edited by d_stranz; 31st May 2021 at 17:06. Reason: removed URL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Using a proxy built into the application to access https headers in QtWebEngine

    @Wanda1YN: Please do not post links to commercial web sites. I do not think you understand the question the the OP posted. He is not looking to set up a proxy server, and posting a link to a site providing commercial proxy services is not an appropriate answer.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th November 2016, 18:37
  2. QtWebEngine for 32 bits target application on Mac
    By NIRANJAN BAI in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th February 2016, 19:53
  3. [Qtwebengine] Running Chrome Apps in QtWebEngine
    By raunvivek in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th July 2015, 14:32
  4. Https proxy server
    By k.qasempour in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th October 2012, 12:24
  5. Downloading file over https with proxy
    By szraf in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th April 2011, 17:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.