Thread: How to parse a date/time string that may be invalid only because of DST?

Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default How to parse a date/time string that may be invalid only because of DST?

I'm a developer on KPhotoAlbum, a volunteer open source image management application for KDE. We recently received a bug report from a user because some of the person's photos were not getting the date extracted correctly from the EXIF data embedded in the photograph.

The date/time in a photo is, per the EXIF specification, encoded as

YYYY:MM:DD hh:mm:ss

The problem was one of the photos had a date string of

2000:04:02 02:05:37

This fell within the spring-ahead that year. As a result, the attempt to parse the string as a date yielded an invalid date, as documented. Even much more recent cameras don't automatically correct for DST (which would be problematic, among other reasons as it would require a firmware release whenever the timezone rules changed anywhere). But the result is that if you're taking photos during just the wrong hour of the year we aren't able to extract a timestamp and have to fall back on the file modification time.

Obviously, this is a rather rare situation. I've personally never hit it in the something like 300,000 photos I've shot, since I've never been out shooting at 2 AM on a certain Saturday night in the spring. Still, if there's a robust way of working around it I'd like to be able to do something. One thought that came to mind is if the parser fails to append a 'Z' to the timestamp string (to indicate UTC) and try again; if it succeeds, it's clearly an indication of a DST problem. We could then either accept the UTC time as the timestamp, or if we can somehow work out the timezone, correct for that. Fiddling with a timestamp string is not the most robust approach, however.