Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Passing message to MainWindow status bar - using connect

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    28
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Passing message to MainWindow status bar - using connect

    I did managed to clean-up my messy code and actually got it working the way I wanted.
    I believe my problem was trying to control the btscanner from within the MainWindow.
    Currently I have both MainWindow and scanner forms on desktop and it works as expected.

    I am trying to understand QDockWidget and see if I can get btscanner to be part of the MainWindow.
    As soon as I can manage that I'll be happy camper.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,233
    Thanks
    303
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Passing message to MainWindow status bar - using connect

    I am trying to understand QDockWidget and see if I can get btscanner to be part of the MainWindow.
    That might work. It depends on how you want your UI to operate. You could also check out QMdiArea and QMdiSubWindow as an alternative to docking widgets. If you add a QMdiArea as the central widget for QMainWindow, you can have multiple floating sub windows that can be tiled, overlapped, maximized, or minimized.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    28
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Passing message to MainWindow status bar - using connect

    My original idea was to use tabs in MainWindow.
    I do not like to have too cluttered application - with everything visible.
    I like to have "tab" for each functionality

    "scan for bt devices " - which btscanner does
    then I like to have info about devices paired - not really necessary
    then the actual communication via bluettoth - as a main tab


    QMdiArea and QMdiSubWindow would keep too much "stuff" visible, but it would be fun (?) to try.

Similar Threads

  1. Passing data between MainWindow and my class
    By r2com in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27th July 2016, 16:04
  2. Showing long message in status bar
    By riarioriu3 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th July 2012, 11:26
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th February 2011, 11:10
  4. Status bar message tend to disappear
    By maverick_pol in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th July 2010, 00:15
  5. Passing Pixmaps between MainWindow and Dialog
    By ramstormrage in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 20th April 2008, 13:32

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.