Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Make Clean not working as in previous version of QTcreator

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Make Clean not working as in previous version of QTcreator

    I am using QtCreator 4.11 and Qt5.8.
    I've created a makefile using qmake projectname.pro. when performing a make clean, the executable is not removed. All the other files that should be removed are removed, but the executable persists. What is the setting that I have to make to get this to perform as it did before.

    Also, when I build in QtCreator using the first green arrow on the lower left it does not run the executable. The previous version would compile then run the new executable. I'm sure its another project setting, can anyone give me some insight.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,734
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Make Clean not working as in previous version of QTcreator

    Quote Originally Posted by emp1953 View Post
    When performing a make clean, the executable is not removed. All the other files that should be removed are removed, but the executable persists.
    Correct. The clean target removes intermediate objects, temporary files, and core files, not the executable.
    Qt Code:
    1. clean: compiler_clean
    2. -$(DEL_FILE) $(OBJECTS)
    3. -$(DEL_FILE) *~ core *.core
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    What is the setting that I have to make to get this to perform as it did before.
    The distclean target also removes the target executable/library, the qmake.stash file, and the Makefile.
    Qt Code:
    1. distclean: clean
    2. -$(DEL_FILE) $(TARGET)
    3. -$(DEL_FILE) .qmake.stash
    4. -$(DEL_FILE) Makefile
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    This boilerplate qmake output has not changed for as long as I can remember.
    "We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them." -- Einstein
    If you are posting code then please use [code] [/code] tags around it - makes addressing the problem easier.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Make Clean not working as in previous version of QTcreator

    Very Helpful indeed. I don't recall ever using that dist clean method before.

    How do I mark this solved, for when someone tackles the 2nd question on the post.

    Is there something to click on here to Thank or give points or something?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,734
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Make Clean not working as in previous version of QTcreator

    There is no Solved button. There is a Thanks button at the bottom of each post.

    Regarding the Qt Creator question. It depends on why it is not running.
    It may be failing to find the executable to run. Check your project configuration:
    Screenshot_20201217_183703.jpg

    It may be attempting to run the program, but the program does not find dependencies and terminates. You can set a library search path in the same area of the project configuration.

    If all else fails try closing Qt Creator, removing the yourproject.pro.user file, and reimporting the PRO file into a new project.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th May 2017, 11:11
  2. Deleting Orphaned Moc Files With Make Clean
    By zarkon in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th August 2013, 04:24
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th October 2011, 21:45
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th August 2011, 19:08
  5. QtCreator 2.0 crashes application working in QtCreator 1.3
    By been_1990 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st September 2010, 12:58

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.