Thread: Qt QAxObject - Find Documentation for Excell API/SDK on Cell Property,etc

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

Default Qt QAxObject - Find Documentation for Excell API/SDK on Cell Property,etc

I need to integrate my Qt Application with MS Excel, I have created a class that can do the job so well but I have limited knowledge of the variables to include when dealing with the worksheet (querySubObject) and Cell Properties such as borders (Bottom Border, Top Border, Bottom Double border,etc), as well as writing images, chats, etc into the spreadsheet, headers and footers(this very important). I have searched the internet in vain. Can someone point to me how I can access these attributes so I can make my exports look elegant to the final user? Thanks.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Qt QAxObject - Find Documentation for Excell API/SDK on Cell Property,etc

The Microsoft VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) framework is the primary programming interface to Office applications. The Excel Object Model defines all of the objects that can be manipulated through VBA (which uses the underlying COM /ActiveX interface to Excel).

This VBA-based object model is identical to the ActiveX model you can access through C++. So you can follow that documentation to get at the objects and their properties from within C++. After you #import the Excel type libraries into your C++ program, you will find that it has generated "tli" and "tlh" #include files that contain the actual C++ names for each of the corresponding VBA objects. (So "Application" becomes "_Application" for example). These are readable ASCII files and you will be able to see the complete C++-based object model in them. You'll need to learn how to read Microsoft MIDL syntax but it isn't much different from C++.