Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QScintilla ColumnMode?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default QScintilla ColumnMode?

    Does anyone know if there is a version of QScintilla out there supporting ColumnMode? I can't seem to find any roadmap or anything.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,017
    Thanks
    280
    Thanked 816 Times in 805 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: QScintilla ColumnMode?

    By "ColumnMode" I assume you mean support for multiple column formatting within a page?

    Looking at the Scintilla website, it doesn't appear to be supported in Scintilla itself, so I doubt it would be supported in a Qt wrapper. Since Scintilla is designed as a source code editor, not general-purpose document editing software, it is not surprising that multiple column support is not there. What would be the point of multiple columns in source code? The Scintilla site has a bug and feature list, and there is nothing on there.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QScintilla ColumnMode?

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    By "ColumnMode" I assume you mean support for multiple column formatting within a page?

    Looking at the Scintilla website, it doesn't appear to be supported in Scintilla itself, so I doubt it would be supported in a Qt wrapper. Since Scintilla is designed as a source code editor, not general-purpose document editing software, it is not surprising that multiple column support is not there. What would be the point of multiple columns in source code? The Scintilla site has a bug and feature list, and there is nothing on there.
    Column mode comes in handy, especially if you have to fix test data, or need to line up a bunch of poorly aligned code.

    align-001.png

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,017
    Thanks
    280
    Thanked 816 Times in 805 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: QScintilla ColumnMode?

    I see. Can you use the tab setting features for that?
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing qscintilla plugin
    By aaditya190 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th December 2013, 10:14
  2. Problem with QScintilla
    By dmr in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th May 2013, 22:47
  3. QScintilla
    By drake1983 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st November 2010, 13:01
  4. QScintilla
    By gerome69 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th May 2009, 14:30
  5. qscintilla and markers
    By sawerset in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2009, 21:39

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.