Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Error: dependent '....' does not exist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Error: dependent '....' does not exist

    Hi there,

    I'm trying to compile QGroundControl v2.6 from the following repository https://github.com/mavlink/qgroundco...ee/Stable_V2.6

    I have been following the README to setup the programming environment.

    My IDE and environment are as follows:

    • Qt Creator 5.6 32-bit
    • msvc2013-32bit compiler
    • Shadow builds enabled


    I did a git clone of the repository, created feature, experimental, release and master branches in my local directory.

    I created a user_config.pri file disabling RTLAB support as per the read me.

    When I did a git clone of QGroundControl, the qgroundcontrol/libs/mavlink folder did not "clone" over because it is referenced from another repository. qgroundcontrol/libs/qtandroidsupport also did not "clone" over as well for the same reason. (I don't know how to make git clone recursively referenced repositories, so if someone could tell me how to do this, it would be very helpful).

    When I build, I get the following error:

    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Qt\Qt5.6.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\jom.exe -f Makefile.Debug
    2. Error: dependent '..\qgroundcontrol\libs\mavlink\include\mavlink\v1.0\common\mavlink_msg_change_operator_control.h' does not exist.
    3.  
    4. jom: C:\Software\qgroundcontrol-stable-V2.6\build-qgroundcontrol-Desktop_Qt_5_6_0_MSVC2013_32bit-Debug\Makefile [debug] Error 2
    5. 21:41:29: The process "C:\Qt\Qt5.6.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\jom.exe" exited with code 2.
    6. Error while building/deploying project qgroundcontrol (kit: Desktop Qt 5.6.0 MSVC2013 32bit)
    7. When executing step "Make"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    The base directory and location of the project file is:
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Software\qgroundcontrol-stable-V2.6\qgroundcontrol\qgroundcontrol.pro
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I have manually added the library:

    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Software\qgroundcontrol-stable-V2.6\qgroundcontrol\libs\mavlink\
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Verified that 'mavlink_msg_change_operator_control.h' exits
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Software\qgroundcontrol-stable-V2.6\qgroundcontrol\libs\mavlink\include\mavlink\v1.0\common\mavlink_msg_change_operator_control.h
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    I've cleaned, deleted the build directory multiple times. I also need to run shadow build.

    What is the problem? Thank you so much in advance for helping me figure it out!

    **Note the directory location is not exactly C:\Software. I have shortened it for privacy.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Error: dependent '....' does not exist

    **Note the directory location is not exactly C:\Software. I have shortened it for privacy.
    Well, then have you inadvertently run into the ancient DOS limits on path length or depth? If jom is running in a command shell, a path length that's too long or too deep could result in this error.

    Where is your shadow build directory with respect to the qgroundcontrol directory? jom is expecting that for whatever Makefile you are executing, qgroundcontrol lives at "..\" with respect to it. Line 4 looks like that's what it is, but since you've "shortened" things, we can't be sure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Error: dependent '....' does not exist

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    Well, then have you inadvertently run into the ancient DOS limits on path length or depth? If jom is running in a command shell, a path length that's too long or too deep could result in this error.

    Where is your shadow build directory with respect to the qgroundcontrol directory? jom is expecting that for whatever Makefile you are executing, qgroundcontrol lives at ".." with respect to it. Line 4 looks like that's what it is, but since you've "shortened" things, we can't be sure.


    I have the same problem;

    jom.exe, Error:
    dependent '..\..\..\..\xxxxx_xwwss_2023\xxxxx_xwwss\xxxxx_ho ok\xx_aaa_view\aaa_transfer\aaa_transfer_view\aaa_ delegate\aaa_transfer_delegate\aaa_aaaaaaa_delegat e_list_view.h" does not exist


    Subproject directory : G:\src\xxxxx_xwwss_2023\xxxxx_xwwss\xxxxx_hook\xx_ aaa_view\xx_aaa_view.pro

    top directory : G:\src\xxxxx_xwwss_2023\xxxxx_xwwss.pro

    shadow build.

    Hope to get your reply; thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 76 Times in 74 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Error: dependent '....' does not exist

    Hi, if you have run into the "path length" problem that d_stranz mentioned above, you can try this:
    https://www.autodesk.com/support/tec...haracters.html
    Short: in regedit browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\FileSystem, create/edit "LongPathsEnabled" and set it to 1. Then reboot.

    Ginsengelf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Error: dependent '....' does not exist

    First of all thank you for your reply


    After analysis and verification, it is the shadow build that leads to the long path.

    The name of the build directory is too long. I changed the name of the build directory, and it is normal;

    But I still wonder why not remove .. from the path; This is an avoidable mistake


    Added after 8 minutes:


    Or add a long path prefix.
    Last edited by rootlife; 4th October 2023 at 11:59.

Similar Threads

  1. C2871 Error : namespace doesnot exist
    By snow_starzz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th May 2015, 20:26
  2. Error: dependent '..\HosneYosef\TitleHelp.png' does not exist.
    By complexcoding in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st January 2013, 12:19
  3. File does not exist error with rcc.exe
    By JB_Trace in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th November 2012, 16:20
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 4th November 2010, 22:34
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th February 2006, 05:51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.