Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: just a little question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default just a little question

    I installed Qt4 free version on my computer. And now i
    don't know what to do next. Can you help me (please)
    and explain how to set project settings in Visual c++
    6 and Borland C++ Builder 6 to work. Also i have
    earlier version of Qt opensource on my SUSE Linux 9.2.
    When i try to use some #include <........> KDevelop
    displays message - no such file.... blah, blah.... so
    if you know how to set KDevelop project to work with
    qt (the same problem with Visual c++ 6 and borland...
    under windows) PLEASE HELP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: just a little question

    Quote Originally Posted by NobodyPerfect
    I installed Qt4 free version on my computer. And now i
    don't know what to do next. Can you help me (please)
    and explain how to set project settings in Visual c++
    6 and Borland C++ Builder 6 to work.
    Open Source version of Qt 4 for windows doesn't work with those compilers out of the box. Did you try using MinGW?

    Quote Originally Posted by NobodyPerfect
    Also i have earlier version of Qt opensource on my SUSE Linux 9.2.
    When i try to use some #include <........> KDevelop
    displays message - no such file.... blah, blah.... so
    if you know how to set KDevelop project to work with
    qt
    Which KDevelop version do you have? Older ones have problems with Qt4 (especially when it comes to resources).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: just a little question

    Qt4 will only work with the mingw compiler so you can forget about msvc and borland. In linux the topic has already been addressed, in sort:

    export QTDIR=[your Qt 4 installation path]
    export PATH=[your Qt 4 installation path]/bin:$PATH

    Enjoy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: just a little question

    I used MinGW, standard .exe installation - free version which i got from trolltech website. If i install in usual steps - .exe installation - would qt work in visual studio 6 withouth setting any options in visual studio 6 project? For example, i installed Coin3d library for opengl. I found manual about setting project in visual studio 6. I set lib, include path dll etc. Coin3d worked. So, i want know do i need same thing with qt? I tried to set some settings (lib path, include path) for visual studio 6 project, but i dont know the rest. Visual studio 6 recogniozes paths and accepts header files, but when i start using qt in visual studio 6 i have error messages. I tried simple qt "hello world" tutorial to do, but there was error message too. I know that is probably in my project settings in visual studio 6. I just need right settings information.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: just a little question

    Officially the open source version works only with MinGW

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Österreich
    Posts
    35
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: just a little question

    Quote Originally Posted by NobodyPerfect
    Visual studio 6 recogniozes paths and accepts header files, but when i start using qt in visual studio 6 i have error messages. I tried simple qt "hello world" tutorial to do, but there was error message too. I know that is probably in my project settings in visual studio 6. I just need right settings information.
    No, you can't do it. It intentionally lacks support for it. From the Trolltech FAQs:

    Entry number: 389 - Why is there no support for Microsoft Visual Studio compilers in your Windows Open Source Edition?

    There are two main reasons. We want our Open Source Edition to support an Open Source compiler. The logical choice then is to support the Windows version of gcc, MinGW. The second reason is that we need to balance our need for sustainable business with our want to support Open Source. We are releasing the full Qt API and set of tools as Open Source on Windows, so there is no difference in the available product. All Open Source developers have access to MinGW. We believe that support for Microsoft compilers is one area where we can meaningfully differentiate between commercial and Open Source use.

    (Source: http://www.trolltech.com/developer/f...&id=389#answer)
    In other words, they want to stay in business and it would be harder to do that from the open source community than from win32 programmers who are also trying to make a buck with closed-source programs written in VC++ (or corporations with in-house development teams making proprietary company applications). It is a pity for people who would like to make open source programs for win32 in VC++, but on the bright side you can consider it a minor redistribution of wealth.
    My philosophy is: If you can use a free, open-source alternative: do it. And if you can't, pretend it's free and open-source and hope you don't get caught.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: just a little question

    Thank you guys. I understand. I tought if the visual stuidio 6 and borland are the most frequently used it would obvious that library will work on this platforms. I will use MinGW instead.

    Best Regards

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: just a little question

    Quote Originally Posted by NobodyPerfect
    I tought if the visual stuidio 6 and borland are the most frequently used it would obvious that library will work on this platforms.
    It does, but only if you pay for it (as you have to pay for those compilers too, that shouldn't seem odd ).

Similar Threads

  1. Plugin implementation question
    By JPNaude in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th August 2008, 20:24
  2. SQL Question
    By ^NyAw^ in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th April 2008, 19:36
  3. Exceptions / setjmp/longjmp question
    By Aceman2000 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th March 2008, 17:14
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th March 2007, 20:45

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.