Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Application migration from QT3 to Qt4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Wink Application migration from QT3 to Qt4

    Hi All,
    I am new to Qt world.Would like to know some information on Qt library.We have an qt embedded application build on qte 3.3..6 and now we want to globalise the application to all over world.I mean internationalisation added to application.
    But there are some problem in qte3.3.6 library for glyph rendering of combiniing character for indian and thai language.So we thought to change the qte library to fix those issues. I have done some changes in the qte library but it won't helping me out.
    However, i want to know if library is changed by me then do i require to modify the application also to reflect the correct glyph display.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Application migration from QT3 to Qt4

    Quote Originally Posted by gary_qt View Post
    However, i want to know if library is changed by me then do i require to modify the application also to reflect the correct glyph display.
    Yes, switching from Qt 3 to Qt 4 (or from Qt/Embedded 3 to Qtopia 4) does require some porting efforts if that's the question.
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Post Re: Application migration from QT3 to Qt4

    Hi again,
    Thanks for infromation.But my understanding in my case is, i don't have to do to changes in the application. Let me explain one more time.
    I added some internal function indic_shape of glyph drawing from qt.4.3 to qte3.3.6library and use the indic_shape for devanagiri and other indian language.
    So i made changes only in qte library and that is w.r.t. to show combined character.
    I can not insert the exact glyph to explain you clearly but let us assume.
    character A + character B = character C
    Here when two character A and B are coming from language.qm file then we need to display character c on screen but in reality AB is displaying.Same problem is coming in devanagiri language.
    However here library code is modify then why the application should change???
    As far as my understanding goes it won't application. Please confirm me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Application migration from QT3 to Qt4

    Yes, you're right. Modifying a library like that does not require changes in the application.
    J-P Nurmi

Similar Threads

  1. dll + application
    By fpujol in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th April 2007, 18:37
  2. Application deployment problem
    By shapirlex in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th April 2007, 00:11
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th December 2006, 18:51
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st March 2006, 18:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.