Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Layout messed up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Layout messed up

    Hi,

    I'll post this question under Qt Designer topic since I assume it's related to it.

    1) I remove rm -r ~/.config
    2) start my application: all menus fonts, text, are nicely sized, spaced, ...
    3) I start qtconfig change default font from 13 to 10: all menus are messed up (menu not wide enough for menu text) groupBox text only partially visible, ...
    4) change font back to 13: still messed up: now menu text is back at 13 but still messed up other text stays at 10 (e.g. table contents)

    So, only removing the .config file lets my application look correct ?!?!?
    Has anyone an idea what is going wrong?

    P.S. I'm using qt/designer/qtconfig 4.2.3 on a 64bit RHEL3.0 system

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    If you're still facing the problem, could we see some screenshots? Does this happen in all Qt4 based apps or just in the ones you created?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    Yes, I still have the problem. I have an old binary compiled with 4.2.3 which behaves normal. After we did major gui changes it's messed up and I'm not able to find the root cause. Here are three examples:

    1) remove ~/.config file.
    2) change default font San Serif from 13pt to 10pt.
    3) change font back to default 13 pt.

    All compiled under RHEL4.0, Qt 4.3.0, 64 bit. Tested with different Qt version
    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    Could you post a minimal compilable example reproducing the problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    I tried to isolate the GUI from the core to get an example I can post - by doing that I noticed that the GUI alone has no problem - it looks just fine. So, it seems that something in the core is messing up the layout. I keep digging.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    Adding
    Qt Code:
    1. QApplication::setFont(QFont(QApplication::font().family(),QApplication::font().pointSize()));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    seems to fix the problem (as strange as it sounds). /btw only VNC was showing the strange font issues, Exceed seemed fine. I still can't explain why I have a binary which does not show the problems.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Layout messed up

    I suggest reporting a bug to Trolltech. But first check the TaskTracker, maybe it has already been reported.

Similar Threads

  1. changing layout of a widget
    By mikro in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th August 2009, 20:21
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th April 2007, 12:11
  3. Resizing problems when applying a layout
    By JimBrown in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st February 2007, 22:54
  4. "dynamic" layout
    By hulk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th May 2006, 07:16
  5. QT4 layout of complex dialog is very slow
    By cboles in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28th April 2006, 19:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.