Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Popping up a dialog?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Popping up a dialog?

    I'm still learning the role that Qt Designer plays ... IDE-light or strictly UI shell generator. There is afterall a signals/slots editor.

    How do you (in Designer) popup a dialog? For example, from a menu Help->About action?

    Is this sort of thing done in Designer? Or does it have to be done in code?

    Thanks,
    Ben

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Popping up a dialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by brcain
    I'm still learning the role that Qt Designer plays ... IDE-light or strictly UI shell generator. There is afterall a signals/slots editor.
    Designer is only a layour editor.

    How do you (in Designer) popup a dialog? For example, from a menu Help->About action?
    You can't do this.

    Is this sort of thing done in Designer? Or does it have to be done in code?
    You must write some code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Popping up a dialog?

    Does the signal/slot editor sort of muddy the water a bit? That editor is modeling behavior. So, it seems that there is more than just layout going on.

    Not trying to be difficult ... just tried to identify/rid my misconceptions.

    Much Thanks,
    Ben

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Popping up a dialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by brcain
    Does the signal/slot editor sort of muddy the water a bit? That editor is modeling behavior. So, it seems that there is more than just layout going on.
    You can create some typical connections using this editor or just ignore it. There is also action editor which saves you a lot of typing, but still main purpose of the Designer is to design layouts.

    In Qt 3 Designer you could even edit code, but this additional functionality was more like a hack and luckily it was removed in Qt 4.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Popping up a dialog?

    I do appreciate the desire to separate the "code" from the UI. I try to go a step further by leveraging the model-view-controller architecture. It seems to support the life-cylcle better.

Similar Threads

  1. Issue with Modelless dialog on Mac
    By Satyanarayana Chebrolu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th February 2009, 10:10
  2. Dialog is not closing
    By manmohan in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st December 2008, 17:04
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th August 2008, 18:07
  4. Resizing the dialog boxes
    By anju123 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th September 2007, 10:41
  5. QGraphicsView: Dialog Position Doubt
    By arjunasd in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th August 2007, 17:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.