Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: LD_LIBRARY_PATH problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default LD_LIBRARY_PATH problem

    Hello

    Anyone here knows how to auto-export LD_LIBRARY_PATH on pc boot? Also why LD_LIBRARY_PATH suddenly disappear from my export list after a few hours?
    Image Analysis Development Framework Using Qt (IADFUQ)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: LD_LIBRARY_PATH problem

    What shell are you using?
    For bash, the user startup script is ~/.bash_profile (or ~/.bashrc ).
    You can add there the export and it will be set when you log in.

    You also have to check /etc/passwd and make sure your user's default shell is bash.

    For other shells, just search the internet.

    Also why LD_LIBRARY_PATH suddenly disappear from my export list after a few hours?
    There must be some voodoo involved .
    Really, I think you run some application that just changes the variable. This shouldn't happen, it should append paths to the var not override it.

  3. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    sincnarf (14th October 2007)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: LD_LIBRARY_PATH problem

    If you want it system-wide, you can add a file containing the path to /etc/ld.so.conf.d/ or modify /etc/ld.so.conf directly depending on your system. Then run ldconfig (as root) and you're done - you won't need LD_LIBRARY_PATH.

  5. The following 2 users say thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    sincnarf (14th October 2007), sunil.thaha (18th October 2007)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: LD_LIBRARY_PATH problem

    You can open terminal and export the LD_LIBRARY_PATH just before running it as follows:

    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    exec "./my_app"

Similar Threads

  1. [QMYSQL] connection problem
    By chaos_theory in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd July 2007, 10:52
  2. Grid Layout Problem
    By Seema Rao in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th May 2006, 13:45
  3. Problem with bitBlt
    By yellowmat in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th April 2006, 15:08
  4. fftw problem
    By lordy in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th March 2006, 22:36
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 16:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.